Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
wonderful new-to-us side dish. Can't wait to try with a little mexican cheese mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Easy! I prepared this the night before and carried it to a pitch-in. It was a great side with the fajitas that were served. I did add a can of tomatoes and chilis. I am glad I did. I think it would have been a bit bland. It was also great warmed up and covered with a bit of cheese. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
A little bland, but a great starter recipe. I had to add some cumin and fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was SO yummy! The only thing that I changed was that I didn't use black beans...I thought that I had a can, but I didn't. Next time, I will make sure I do. I kept thinking of all of the great ways you could serve this...as a side dish (which is what I did), or over rice, as taco finning or even veggie enchiladas...I am definately going to experiment with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My family enjoyed, but I added about twice as much Poblano as the recipe called for. I would like to try some of the other ideas such as adding cheese and an avocado next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this for my family as a side dish with chicken enchiladas and it was huge success. I added sweet cherry tomatoes on top just before serving. My husband told me he had never liked black beans before, but he loved the dish.We like spicy food so I sprinkled a little Fiesta seasoning on top & tossed, I think you could sprinkle a little bit of Taco seasoning instead and it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I added an avocado just before serving it and used hot sauce to give it a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Excellent! Doesn't lack anything! Wonderful sidedish for a mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Really good! Tasty, easy, quick and cheap-a real winner! I added a can of Rotel and some Mexican seasoning blend as the recipe was a touch bland as written (which is the only reason for the 4 star rating). With the additions, it was awesome! Served it in tortillas with cheese-yummy and healthy too! We'll be making this regularly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was pretty good. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a pinch of ground cumin seed. Will make again - inexpensive and packed full of nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States