Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
wonderful new-to-us side dish. Can't wait to try with a little mexican cheese mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Easy! I prepared this the night before and carried it to a pitch-in. It was a great side with the fajitas that were served. I did add a can of tomatoes and chilis. I am glad I did. I think it would have been a bit bland. It was also great warmed up and covered with a bit of cheese. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
A little bland, but a great starter recipe. I had to add some cumin and fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was SO yummy! The only thing that I changed was that I didn't use black beans...I thought that I had a can, but I didn't. Next time, I will make sure I do. I kept thinking of all of the great ways you could serve this...as a side dish (which is what I did), or over rice, as taco finning or even veggie enchiladas...I am definately going to experiment with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My family enjoyed, but I added about twice as much Poblano as the recipe called for. I would like to try some of the other ideas such as adding cheese and an avocado next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this for my family as a side dish with chicken enchiladas and it was huge success. I added sweet cherry tomatoes on top just before serving. My husband told me he had never liked black beans before, but he loved the dish.We like spicy food so I sprinkled a little Fiesta seasoning on top & tossed, I think you could sprinkle a little bit of Taco seasoning instead and it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I added an avocado just before serving it and used hot sauce to give it a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Excellent! Doesn't lack anything! Wonderful sidedish for a mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Really good! Tasty, easy, quick and cheap-a real winner! I added a can of Rotel and some Mexican seasoning blend as the recipe was a touch bland as written (which is the only reason for the 4 star rating). With the additions, it was awesome! Served it in tortillas with cheese-yummy and healthy too! We'll be making this regularly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was pretty good. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a pinch of ground cumin seed. Will make again - inexpensive and packed full of nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States