Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Surprisingly tasty - great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made it as a side dish for 12 people. I used the "change servings" button and ended up needing 12 zucchini! I only used 6. I added a can of tomatoes and took out one can of corn. It smelled so good but didn't have much flavor. It made too much and it had way too much zucchini in it. I will make it again but I will be adjusting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Pretty tasty! I sautéed the onions quite a while to bring out the sweetness, then just lightly cooked the rest to heat through and soften the squash (but not let it get mushy!). For leftovers, I added some spinach and reheated in the skillet. Just as good, maybe better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very tasty. My 2 year old gobbled it up. I used an Anaheim Chile instead because it's what I had on hand. If I wasn't feeding it to my kiddos, I'd enjoy a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It's a nice dish. I didn't rinse the beans. When I added the corn and beans I also added a pinch of kosher salt and about 1/2 tsp cumim. I topped a serving with swiss cheese. It would be great with shrimp, chicken, turkey or a mild meat. It's great for vegan and vegetarians looking for a change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great side dish on Mexican pizza night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathycgd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
a couple things first...i did not use corn, not always a fan of the sweetness, so left it out. Had frozen roasted green chilis in the freezer, so threw one of those in the pan to defrost when I added the zucchini...then realized I should have removed the seend, these were quite potent. Did my best to removed of the seeds from the pan...still added quite bit of heat to the dish. At the end I added a fresh tomato and an avocado. Served as a side dish with grilled fish tacos. I liked it. Kept well for a few days in the fridge so I could bring it to work for lunch...was yummy reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Simple and easy to prepare. Delicous over rice or noodles, with added Soy sauce and Mozarrela cheese sprinkled over ingredients over rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Turned this recipe into a soup, and it was delicious! Sautéed red, yellow, and green peppers instead of the poblano, and I added chicken boullion, fresh ground cumin and fresh cilantro leaves. Excellent way to jazz up squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States