Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Pretty tasty! I sautéed the onions quite a while to bring out the sweetness, then just lightly cooked the rest to heat through and soften the squash (but not let it get mushy!). For leftovers, I added some spinach and reheated in the skillet. Just as good, maybe better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very tasty. My 2 year old gobbled it up. I used an Anaheim Chile instead because it's what I had on hand. If I wasn't feeding it to my kiddos, I'd enjoy a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It's a nice dish. I didn't rinse the beans. When I added the corn and beans I also added a pinch of kosher salt and about 1/2 tsp cumim. I topped a serving with swiss cheese. It would be great with shrimp, chicken, turkey or a mild meat. It's great for vegan and vegetarians looking for a change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great side dish on Mexican pizza night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathycgd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
a couple things first...i did not use corn, not always a fan of the sweetness, so left it out. Had frozen roasted green chilis in the freezer, so threw one of those in the pan to defrost when I added the zucchini...then realized I should have removed the seend, these were quite potent. Did my best to removed of the seeds from the pan...still added quite bit of heat to the dish. At the end I added a fresh tomato and an avocado. Served as a side dish with grilled fish tacos. I liked it. Kept well for a few days in the fridge so I could bring it to work for lunch...was yummy reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Simple and easy to prepare. Delicous over rice or noodles, with added Soy sauce and Mozarrela cheese sprinkled over ingredients over rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Turned this recipe into a soup, and it was delicious! Sautéed red, yellow, and green peppers instead of the poblano, and I added chicken boullion, fresh ground cumin and fresh cilantro leaves. Excellent way to jazz up squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Mmmmm, delicious! I added a dash of chili powder and cumin, omitted the salt, added a bit of dried cilantro, used a cubanelle and an ancient red pepper, and used less corn and beans (not a fan). I've had this recipe in my box for almost five years now, and I'm sorry that I haven't been able to try this sooner. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I tend to take the best of all recommended changes to recipes and make my own personal masterpiece. And I did with this dish, which came out delicious. I made 12 servings for a friend's Cinco De Mayo party, which was more than I expected, yet most of it was eaten up, mostly as a side dish, but also as a main course for the two vegetarians at the party. Here's the changes I made to the four (4 ) serving recipe originally shown on allrecipes.com: Instead of 4 zucchini, I used 2 zucchini and 2 butternut squash (for color). I used 1 can of Ro*Tel tomatoes because they're lightly spicy, and 1 tablespoon of cilantro. I then covered and sauteed until soft, over medium heat, stirring about once a minute. Then, I stirred in the recommended amount of corn, but reduced the beans by 1/3, about 10 ounces. While that mixture was heating, I added the recommended amount of salt, plus 1 fresh lime, 1 teaspoon of chili powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Continue to cook uncovered, stirring about once a minute. I also found out it's just as delicious cold as warm. If you can let it sit for a few hours in the refrigerator, and then thoroughly stir it, and microwave it (or serve it cold), it tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States