'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I feel so let down! These ratings are amazing, and what I ate was not. Four zucchinis is a LOT - it crowded my skillet, and there wasn't enough liquid to coat them. So, some of them came out tasting very dry and plan. Blech. Even adding too much salt didn't help to liven up the flavor. I also used sharp cheddar instead of mild - still, nothing. Glad everyone else liked it, but it's not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was super simple and a great way to use of garden zucchini. I used diced tomatoes, as I had no stewed. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I, like many others used olive oil, and this recipe was delicious. I grow Zucchini in my garden so I always look for new recipes with new ways to eat them. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Seems easy to add or subtract any of the ingredients. The zucchini doesn't take that long to cook. I used Rotel because I didn't have stewed tomatoes. I always used parmesan with steamed zucchini, but I really liked the shredded cheddar in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Was looking for quick side dish to use up zucchini. Made recipe exactly as written. My husband & I really liked it and definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This dish is way to easy for how good it is. I did use a fresh tomato and I use a smoked pepper jack cheese. My husband said I knocked it out of the ballpark. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
OUTSTANDING! And just in time for zucchini season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
OK, I made alterations to this but it doesn't diminish the deliciousness and easiness of the base recipe. I added a little shredded chicken, a little chicken stock, corn, instant rice, and stewed tomatoes (2 cans) that were spiced up with mild green chilis -- these are common in the supermarket. As a main dish, a party dish, a side dish, whatever, it was so good. Thanks for giving me the base recipe to work with -- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love this recipe with chopped celery added to the onions and olive oil and parmesan instead of cheddar -- a few less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love this simple dish, but tweaked it to make it "Italian." Instead of Cheddar, I used fresh mozzarella and topped with grated Romano and fresh basil. SOOOOO delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States