'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is great...just like my local Mexican restaurant makes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was yummy yummy stuff!! We loved it. The cheese gives it a very nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good! Super simple to throw together and had nice flavor. Love the cheese on top, really gives it something extra. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This simple dish is so delicious!! I followed the recipe as written except I used olive oil instead of vegetable. Such a wonderful blend of flavors from the slightly sweet stewed tomatoes to the tang of the mild cheddar. I needed a quick recipe to use some zucchini and this is it. Wonderful as a side or as a vegetarian main dish with crusty bread. My boyfriend who doesn't care for zucchini loved this, I was amazed. Thanks NghtSkkyyStarz for sharing this, I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A simple and tasty dish! I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added a pkg. of frozen corn (as used in the traditional mexican recipes) and about 1/2 cup chopped green chile for zing. Also added 10 minutes to the cooking time and served it with baked chicken. A perfect low-cal but filling dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Loved, loved, loved this!! I didn't need the cheese -- I liked it as-is! I didn't use stewed tomatoes, but fresh tomatoes and added enough chicken broth to just cover the bottom of my 10-inch skillet (I will use just a little less next time, though). I also added frozen roasted corn (as corn was suggested by the top review). I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. This is now one of my favorite ways to eat zucchini! I will definitely make this again, I could eat it alone for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this as stated, then again with summer squash instead of zucchini, omitting the cheese and adding a chopped jalapeno. Delicious every time, with or without the cheese! For lunch I had leftovers with a half cup of brown rice for a pretty filling and healthy meal! Thanks for sharing - I'll definitely add this one to my zucchini - and summer squash - rotation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
A Great way to use up the garden zucchini! So healthy and low-cal too! We loved this. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was tasty! And healthy too! I had tomatoes from my garden so I stewed them up with a little salt & sugar instead of using canned tomatoes. I used a lot less cheese than called for, and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These is a very simple recipe and so delicious! I made exactly as is and wouldn't change anything. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States