'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A simple and tasty dish! I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added a pkg. of frozen corn (as used in the traditional mexican recipes) and about 1/2 cup chopped green chile for zing. Also added 10 minutes to the cooking time and served it with baked chicken. A perfect low-cal but filling dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Loved, loved, loved this!! I didn't need the cheese -- I liked it as-is! I didn't use stewed tomatoes, but fresh tomatoes and added enough chicken broth to just cover the bottom of my 10-inch skillet (I will use just a little less next time, though). I also added frozen roasted corn (as corn was suggested by the top review). I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. This is now one of my favorite ways to eat zucchini! I will definitely make this again, I could eat it alone for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This simple dish is so delicious!! I followed the recipe as written except I used olive oil instead of vegetable. Such a wonderful blend of flavors from the slightly sweet stewed tomatoes to the tang of the mild cheddar. I needed a quick recipe to use some zucchini and this is it. Wonderful as a side or as a vegetarian main dish with crusty bread. My boyfriend who doesn't care for zucchini loved this, I was amazed. Thanks NghtSkkyyStarz for sharing this, I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I too remember this dish! If you look around many super markets now carry the small round calabacitas. You can fill them with the cheese and the "stew" the little squashes in the tomate/garlic/onion sauce with the lid on. A slow cooker works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I think I accidentally cooked my zucchini a bit too long when I made this recipe, but it was still very tasty! I used one very large zucchini and about 1/4 of a mammoth zucchini...I wasn't quite sure what size of zucchini should have been used in the recipe! I also used my own frozen homegrown tomatoes instead of the canned ones, and adjusted the seasonings accordingly. I also used sharp cheddar cheese (family preference!) Thanks for sharing...this is a really simple, tasty, healthy, and comforting side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Yum! I really, really enjoyed this. I scaled the recipe to "2", as I was the only one eating this. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used a can of tomato sauce, and instead of cheddar cheese, I used shredded pepperjack. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper for added flavor (and left out the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I just made this dish for the first time this evening, and I have to say wow! I was hunting for a Mexican vegetable dish to go with my chicken enchiladas, and this definitely fit the bill! I grew up in Southern California, and love Mexican food, but had never had anything like this before. It was delicious and will be my go-to vegetable for serving with Mexican meals from now on! My opinion isn't the one that counts though. My husband invited a young family over on the spur of the moment. I was a little worried about serving them something I had never made before, but decided I couldn't go wrong with all the rave reviews. It was this or meatloaf, and chicken enchiladas just seem a better "company" meal to me. Anyway, I had everything just about ready when they got here, and I discovered that the husband is actually Mexican! I'm talking native Mexican! When he saw these calabacitas on the table, his eyes absolutely lit up! He said they looked exactly like the ones he makes. But the real compliment came when he tried them. He said this is authentic Mexican! It's one thing coming from a gringo like me. But you know it's good when a native Mexican tells you so! You can't get a much better compliment than that! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent - we really enjoyed this more than we expected. Can't wait until friends give us more excess zucchini to make this again!! Only one change, I added 1tsp oregano - sooo good!! And so easy - perfect combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was SO easy and delicious. Can be made without cheese to be a vegan/vegetarian friendly side dish, however the flavor isn't so bold without the cheese. Even re-heats great. Will make this again. HEALTHY TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was really good! Even my daughter, who usually only eats zucchini if it's deep fried and dipped in ranch dressing or baked into sweet bread, loved this. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used petite diced tomatoes instead and I subbed queso cotija instead of cheddar cheese because that's what I had on hand. This dish is going into our regular rotation during zucchini season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States