'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This simple dish is so delicious!! I followed the recipe as written except I used olive oil instead of vegetable. Such a wonderful blend of flavors from the slightly sweet stewed tomatoes to the tang of the mild cheddar. I needed a quick recipe to use some zucchini and this is it. Wonderful as a side or as a vegetarian main dish with crusty bread. My boyfriend who doesn't care for zucchini loved this, I was amazed. Thanks NghtSkkyyStarz for sharing this, I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A simple and tasty dish! I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added a pkg. of frozen corn (as used in the traditional mexican recipes) and about 1/2 cup chopped green chile for zing. Also added 10 minutes to the cooking time and served it with baked chicken. A perfect low-cal but filling dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
What a great, easy, tasty and healthy dish! Served with grilled chicken and white rice! Everyone wanted seconds! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I too remember this dish! If you look around many super markets now carry the small round calabacitas. You can fill them with the cheese and the "stew" the little squashes in the tomate/garlic/onion sauce with the lid on. A slow cooker works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was yummy yummy stuff!! We loved it. The cheese gives it a very nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
A Great way to use up the garden zucchini! So healthy and low-cal too! We loved this. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is great...just like my local Mexican restaurant makes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Loved, loved, loved this!! I didn't need the cheese -- I liked it as-is! I didn't use stewed tomatoes, but fresh tomatoes and added enough chicken broth to just cover the bottom of my 10-inch skillet (I will use just a little less next time, though). I also added frozen roasted corn (as corn was suggested by the top review). I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. This is now one of my favorite ways to eat zucchini! I will definitely make this again, I could eat it alone for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was tasty! And healthy too! I had tomatoes from my garden so I stewed them up with a little salt & sugar instead of using canned tomatoes. I used a lot less cheese than called for, and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this as stated, then again with summer squash instead of zucchini, omitting the cheese and adding a chopped jalapeno. Delicious every time, with or without the cheese! For lunch I had leftovers with a half cup of brown rice for a pretty filling and healthy meal! Thanks for sharing - I'll definitely add this one to my zucchini - and summer squash - rotation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States