'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
As written, it needed a little something. I enjoyed it but it wasn't anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I am not a veggie person but this was good. I used 2 yellow squash, 5 zucchini, some diced green peppers, a little oregano and other ingredients listed for recipe, I did use olive oil in place of veg. oil. Next time I will try adding a few more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
followed the recipe exactly....was good and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yummy. This dish was super easy and delicious. I even forgot to add the garlic, and used mexican style diced tomatoes to add a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I actually have been making this for years, not knowing it was a Mexican dish! I have not thought to add cheese though! MMMMMMMMMM I like my zuk crisp/tender. Just barely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I think I accidentally cooked my zucchini a bit too long when I made this recipe, but it was still very tasty! I used one very large zucchini and about 1/4 of a mammoth zucchini...I wasn't quite sure what size of zucchini should have been used in the recipe! I also used my own frozen homegrown tomatoes instead of the canned ones, and adjusted the seasonings accordingly. I also used sharp cheddar cheese (family preference!) Thanks for sharing...this is a really simple, tasty, healthy, and comforting side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Pretty and simple side dish that went well with our Carne Guisada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These is a very simple recipe and so delicious! I made exactly as is and wouldn't change anything. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good! Super simple to throw together and had nice flavor. Love the cheese on top, really gives it something extra. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this as stated, then again with summer squash instead of zucchini, omitting the cheese and adding a chopped jalapeno. Delicious every time, with or without the cheese! For lunch I had leftovers with a half cup of brown rice for a pretty filling and healthy meal! Thanks for sharing - I'll definitely add this one to my zucchini - and summer squash - rotation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States