'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent - we really enjoyed this more than we expected. Can't wait until friends give us more excess zucchini to make this again!! Only one change, I added 1tsp oregano - sooo good!! And so easy - perfect combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was SO easy and delicious. Can be made without cheese to be a vegan/vegetarian friendly side dish, however the flavor isn't so bold without the cheese. Even re-heats great. Will make this again. HEALTHY TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was very tasty, did not use the cheese as it did not need it. The flavors were good with out added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I didnt need to use that much oil and I left out the salt completely. It is still absolutely fantastic and it will be dropping into my usual rotation because of the simplicity and a great way to use up the 4 most common ingredients at my house, onions, garlic, tomatoes and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was really good! Even my daughter, who usually only eats zucchini if it's deep fried and dipped in ranch dressing or baked into sweet bread, loved this. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used petite diced tomatoes instead and I subbed queso cotija instead of cheddar cheese because that's what I had on hand. This dish is going into our regular rotation during zucchini season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I did a 1/2 recipe of it to try it out. I followed everything except I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used the canned diced tomatoes and added a tad of small diced green peppers and onions and a couple pinches of sugar and it worked fine for stewed tomatoes. I sprinkled a little more cheese on my plate also. The recipe only makes about 1/2 servings suggested if this is used as a main dish, and I think it is hearty enough to be. The times on the directions are really good to. I will probably make this again in the future as it is quick to make, rather healthy, and it has the flavor without a bunch of spices. Edit note: I had stewed tomatoes and tried it again, just using a reduced fat cheddar blend and otherwise as written, and it is equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I just made this dish for the first time this evening, and I have to say wow! I was hunting for a Mexican vegetable dish to go with my chicken enchiladas, and this definitely fit the bill! I grew up in Southern California, and love Mexican food, but had never had anything like this before. It was delicious and will be my go-to vegetable for serving with Mexican meals from now on! My opinion isn't the one that counts though. My husband invited a young family over on the spur of the moment. I was a little worried about serving them something I had never made before, but decided I couldn't go wrong with all the rave reviews. It was this or meatloaf, and chicken enchiladas just seem a better "company" meal to me. Anyway, I had everything just about ready when they got here, and I discovered that the husband is actually Mexican! I'm talking native Mexican! When he saw these calabacitas on the table, his eyes absolutely lit up! He said they looked exactly like the ones he makes. But the real compliment came when he tried them. He said this is authentic Mexican! It's one thing coming from a gringo like me. But you know it's good when a native Mexican tells you so! You can't get a much better compliment than that! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was so easy and extremely good! Because of the cheese I found I didn't find a need to add any salt. Sometimes supplement two of the zucchini with two yellow squash for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is actually my recipe, on an old account. I really love it. Sometimes I add pepper to the mix. You can try it with stewed Mexican tomatoes as well, but regular is fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this as a side dish with the Spicy Turkey Burgers recipe. We ate the burgers bunless and these went very well. Much better than fries and easier too! Me and the hubby enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States