'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I did a 1/2 recipe of it to try it out. I followed everything except I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used the canned diced tomatoes and added a tad of small diced green peppers and onions and a couple pinches of sugar and it worked fine for stewed tomatoes. I sprinkled a little more cheese on my plate also. The recipe only makes about 1/2 servings suggested if this is used as a main dish, and I think it is hearty enough to be. The times on the directions are really good to. I will probably make this again in the future as it is quick to make, rather healthy, and it has the flavor without a bunch of spices. Edit note: I had stewed tomatoes and tried it again, just using a reduced fat cheddar blend and otherwise as written, and it is equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I just made this dish for the first time this evening, and I have to say wow! I was hunting for a Mexican vegetable dish to go with my chicken enchiladas, and this definitely fit the bill! I grew up in Southern California, and love Mexican food, but had never had anything like this before. It was delicious and will be my go-to vegetable for serving with Mexican meals from now on! My opinion isn't the one that counts though. My husband invited a young family over on the spur of the moment. I was a little worried about serving them something I had never made before, but decided I couldn't go wrong with all the rave reviews. It was this or meatloaf, and chicken enchiladas just seem a better "company" meal to me. Anyway, I had everything just about ready when they got here, and I discovered that the husband is actually Mexican! I'm talking native Mexican! When he saw these calabacitas on the table, his eyes absolutely lit up! He said they looked exactly like the ones he makes. But the real compliment came when he tried them. He said this is authentic Mexican! It's one thing coming from a gringo like me. But you know it's good when a native Mexican tells you so! You can't get a much better compliment than that! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was so easy and extremely good! Because of the cheese I found I didn't find a need to add any salt. Sometimes supplement two of the zucchini with two yellow squash for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is actually my recipe, on an old account. I really love it. Sometimes I add pepper to the mix. You can try it with stewed Mexican tomatoes as well, but regular is fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this as a side dish with the Spicy Turkey Burgers recipe. We ate the burgers bunless and these went very well. Much better than fries and easier too! Me and the hubby enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent! This is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My manager made this for all of the workers yesterday. It was so good! She didn't add the tomatoes, instead she added frozen corn. Also she diced the zucchini and onion. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I grew up with my grandmother making this dish! We brown cubed pork steak with the onion and garlic and use fresh tomatoes as opposed to stewed (when in season). A wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Num Num. Added some slices of orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I used sharp cheddar for a little tang and I also used olive oil. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States