'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This turns out so much better than it sounds. Great side dish to Mexican fare or Tex-Mex! Make ahead tip: I made this and then turned the stove off and let it sit in the pot for about an hour. Just simmered for about 8 minutes prior to serving. Also used Mexican-style stewed tomatoes - lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Yum! I really, really enjoyed this. I scaled the recipe to "2", as I was the only one eating this. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used a can of tomato sauce, and instead of cheddar cheese, I used shredded pepperjack. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper for added flavor (and left out the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
SO delicious! I love garlic so I added more than called for, and added Frank's Red Hot sauce to taste to give it a kick. The second time I made it, I used one whole red chile pepper, seeded and chopped in with the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
So good! Everyone in my family loved it. It serves great with brown rice and is great for getting rid of giant zucchini. But next time I might use more tomato's. Over all a healthy, fast, and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent - we really enjoyed this more than we expected. Can't wait until friends give us more excess zucchini to make this again!! Only one change, I added 1tsp oregano - sooo good!! And so easy - perfect combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was SO easy and delicious. Can be made without cheese to be a vegan/vegetarian friendly side dish, however the flavor isn't so bold without the cheese. Even re-heats great. Will make this again. HEALTHY TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was very tasty, did not use the cheese as it did not need it. The flavors were good with out added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I didnt need to use that much oil and I left out the salt completely. It is still absolutely fantastic and it will be dropping into my usual rotation because of the simplicity and a great way to use up the 4 most common ingredients at my house, onions, garlic, tomatoes and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was really good! Even my daughter, who usually only eats zucchini if it's deep fried and dipped in ranch dressing or baked into sweet bread, loved this. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used petite diced tomatoes instead and I subbed queso cotija instead of cheddar cheese because that's what I had on hand. This dish is going into our regular rotation during zucchini season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States