'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
OK, I made alterations to this but it doesn't diminish the deliciousness and easiness of the base recipe. I added a little shredded chicken, a little chicken stock, corn, instant rice, and stewed tomatoes (2 cans) that were spiced up with mild green chilis -- these are common in the supermarket. As a main dish, a party dish, a side dish, whatever, it was so good. Thanks for giving me the base recipe to work with -- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love this recipe with chopped celery added to the onions and olive oil and parmesan instead of cheddar -- a few less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love this simple dish, but tweaked it to make it "Italian." Instead of Cheddar, I used fresh mozzarella and topped with grated Romano and fresh basil. SOOOOO delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Love this! I also throw in a bag of frozen roasted corn from Tarder Joes to give it that grilled flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was such a nice change from the zucchini I normally make. My hubby really like this. Very low carb.. I served this with Salsa Chicken from this site for a very low carb dinner. I will be making this more often as my son who does not really like zucchini loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Love it, I love any squash, boyfriend surprised, he didn't "like" squash....Yay!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Pretty good! While I prefer my zucchini crisp-tender, I enjoyed this quite a bit. It took me a couple of bites to get past the texture, but the flavor was so good I quickly adjusted. :) Since I was only serving two adults, I halved everything (except the tomatoes). I used an entire can of tomatoes, but I partially drained them. I also used the largest zucchini I could find. All in all, I enjoyed this, but do think this would be a lot better if the zucchini were sauteed rather than steamed. Thanks for sharing your recipe, EnjoyMyRecipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Loved it along side my chicken enchiladas which are spicy so the flavors compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
As written, 3.5 stars. With minimal tweaking, 4.5. This is a really good side dish for Mexican main courses, like enchiladas, besides the classic rice and beans. The changes I made were adding some whole kernel corn, black pepper, and oregano to increase the flavor. I also used olive oil, quartered the zucchini lengthwise before slicing to create smaller pieces, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed, but that didn't make much difference. Black beans would be another tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is my favorite! I followed all the directions, except I used olive oil. A plus is it's soo healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States