'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Love this! I also throw in a bag of frozen roasted corn from Tarder Joes to give it that grilled flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was such a nice change from the zucchini I normally make. My hubby really like this. Very low carb.. I served this with Salsa Chicken from this site for a very low carb dinner. I will be making this more often as my son who does not really like zucchini loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Love it, I love any squash, boyfriend surprised, he didn't "like" squash....Yay!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Pretty good! While I prefer my zucchini crisp-tender, I enjoyed this quite a bit. It took me a couple of bites to get past the texture, but the flavor was so good I quickly adjusted. :) Since I was only serving two adults, I halved everything (except the tomatoes). I used an entire can of tomatoes, but I partially drained them. I also used the largest zucchini I could find. All in all, I enjoyed this, but do think this would be a lot better if the zucchini were sauteed rather than steamed. Thanks for sharing your recipe, EnjoyMyRecipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Loved it along side my chicken enchiladas which are spicy so the flavors compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
As written, 3.5 stars. With minimal tweaking, 4.5. This is a really good side dish for Mexican main courses, like enchiladas, besides the classic rice and beans. The changes I made were adding some whole kernel corn, black pepper, and oregano to increase the flavor. I also used olive oil, quartered the zucchini lengthwise before slicing to create smaller pieces, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed, but that didn't make much difference. Black beans would be another tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is my favorite! I followed all the directions, except I used olive oil. A plus is it's soo healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Made this to go with Salsa Chicken. This will stay in my recipe box. Only thing that I did different was add cumin and a jalepeno from our garden. One kid didn't care for it but still took more than a few bites...my other was happy to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I wasn't happy with this one at first, then I put it in the oven on broil so that the cheese could get brown on top and it was pretty good that way! I'll try it again but next time I'll add more spice, maybe some cumin, and green chilis, then it should be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Simple, economical, flexible. All of my favorite things. I will be keeping this one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States