Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I have made this dish several times and its one of my favorites! I use shredded cheddar and white cheddar on top after its done cooking. It melts and its delicious! It goes well especially with homemade fresh tortillas! I learned this dish from my mom and this tastes exactly like it. I definitly recommend it. I don't add sugar to mine though and if you are into spicy adding one jalapeno in there with the bell pepper is good. :-) and for those who haven't had this before, its suppose to be slightly runny but eating with tortillas helps alot and add cheese a bit at a time or right on your plate to avoid it being way too cheesy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alienmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was VERY good! My friend from Mexico made this for me before using chayote, but plain zucchini worked for me tonight. I was able to pick all the veggie ingredients right out of my garden. I did add several cloves of roasted garlic, which was very yummy. I also added a little chile powder in the end. My husband is very picky and he LOVED it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was so good, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. After I cooked it on the stove I covered it in more cheese and baked it like a casserole so it would be hot with the meal. Defenitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't have everything on hand, so I had to substitute and used frozen corn for the canned, drained canned diced tomatoes for the fresh, and about 1/2 pound of shreeded Montery jack, and 1/4 pound shredded Mexican mixture (cheddar/M. jack/queso/asedero). I also added a dash of Adobo seasoning and some roasted garlic. Due to my entree taking longer than I thought, I cooked the vegetables as directed, then mixed in the cheese and finished it like a casserole in the oven. This dish will be put into regular rotation. It may be fattening with all that cheese, but the taste is well worth it! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome recipe, easy to make and healthy! Very low carb friendly if you use sweetner instead of sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very good. I use fresh corn and butter instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I omit the sugar and use about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese. I use 1 diced jalapeno chile instead of the bell pepper to give it more of a kick. Make sure you let the cheese completely melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was so easy and tasty. I made a couple of modifications; I drained the liquid once the veggies were done leaving just a little and stirred in 4 cups of shredded Montery Jack cheese. The cheese melted easily and I did not put it back on the stove. I will definitely keep this one and our guest wouldn't leave without the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Excellent...I've been looking for something to serve alongside Mexican food in addition to Spanish rice. It was a big hit, and a great accompaniment to enchiladas. This recipe makes a LOT...a single recipe was more than enough for twelve people as a side. Next time I think I will also try using grated cheese instead of cubed...it got kind of glumpy, even though I used about a third less than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
WOW!! Fabulous dish. I followed the recipe except I drained the corn per other posts. I used Mexican blend cheese (shredded) and cut down to 16 ounces. This will be a regular at our house. Served with the Adobo Sirloin recipe posted here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this stuff! However, I'm a meat-eater, so I used about 1 lb of zucchini with 1 lb of ground beef. I also just eyeball the cheese until it looks good. I like to serve it with corn cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States