Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
These waterbased vegies are a great compliment to some of the heavy textured mexican foods.Very easy to make.The 20 students I cooked for loved it-a good testimony of a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was really pretty, with all the colors of the vegtables, but I followed the instructions and just put the cheese on top without mixing it in. When I served it the cheese wasn't very well incorporated with the vegetables and it kind of just slipped off the top when you tried to eat it. I like everything in it so I think I will try making it again with the following modifications. First I think I will use 1/4 of the cheese to make a cheese sauce to poor over the veggies after the inital cooking stage. I will mix this with the veggies before placing the remaining cheese on top as directed. Second, after cooking for a bit to melt the cheese on top, I think I'll add a breadcrumb/spice/salt & pepper mixture to the top and broil it for a few minutes so that it's nice and crispy on top. We'll see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This recipe serves more than 6 and should be called Cheese with Vegetables. I will make it again, but with a reduced amount of cheese. Otherwise it was very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was VERY good! My friend from Mexico made this for me before using chayote, but plain zucchini worked for me tonight. I was able to pick all the veggie ingredients right out of my garden. I did add several cloves of roasted garlic, which was very yummy. I also added a little chile powder in the end. My husband is very picky and he LOVED it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was a watery, gloppy mess. It was like vegetable soup with globs of cheese in it. Although it tasted OK, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
WHOA! That is a TON of cheese. We cooked everything in a huge skillet for about 15 minutes with the lid on. Then shut off the heat and let rest about 30 minutes. As we transfered the zucchini to the serving dish, we slowly sprinkled in the cheese in layers and stirred as we went. Out of a 1 pound bag, we used MAYBE 1/3rd of it. It was cheese enough to hold the various veggies together without being overwhelming and making a huge mess. (Also cut a ton of calories out of it) Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was so good, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. After I cooked it on the stove I covered it in more cheese and baked it like a casserole so it would be hot with the meal. Defenitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't have everything on hand, so I had to substitute and used frozen corn for the canned, drained canned diced tomatoes for the fresh, and about 1/2 pound of shreeded Montery jack, and 1/4 pound shredded Mexican mixture (cheddar/M. jack/queso/asedero). I also added a dash of Adobo seasoning and some roasted garlic. Due to my entree taking longer than I thought, I cooked the vegetables as directed, then mixed in the cheese and finished it like a casserole in the oven. This dish will be put into regular rotation. It may be fattening with all that cheese, but the taste is well worth it! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome recipe, easy to make and healthy! Very low carb friendly if you use sweetner instead of sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very good. I use fresh corn and butter instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I omit the sugar and use about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese. I use 1 diced jalapeno chile instead of the bell pepper to give it more of a kick. Make sure you let the cheese completely melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States