Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I really liked it but I changed it a bit. I used about 1/2 c. cheddar because that is what I had on hand. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin and a handful of cilantro. Also I used a bananna pepper instead of bell. Next time I will take out the oil and use less sugar and cook in my non stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was really good!! I normally like a lot of seasonings, but this was perfect as is. The combination of vegetables works well. I skipped the cheese, and served it as a side dish to enchiladas and mexican rice. My husband, who doesn't like zucchini, thought it was really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this stuff! However, I'm a meat-eater, so I used about 1 lb of zucchini with 1 lb of ground beef. I also just eyeball the cheese until it looks good. I like to serve it with corn cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
WOW!! Fabulous dish. I followed the recipe except I drained the corn per other posts. I used Mexican blend cheese (shredded) and cut down to 16 ounces. This will be a regular at our house. Served with the Adobo Sirloin recipe posted here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I have made this dish several times and its one of my favorites! I use shredded cheddar and white cheddar on top after its done cooking. It melts and its delicious! It goes well especially with homemade fresh tortillas! I learned this dish from my mom and this tastes exactly like it. I definitly recommend it. I don't add sugar to mine though and if you are into spicy adding one jalapeno in there with the bell pepper is good. :-) and for those who haven't had this before, its suppose to be slightly runny but eating with tortillas helps alot and add cheese a bit at a time or right on your plate to avoid it being way too cheesy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alienmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Excellent...I've been looking for something to serve alongside Mexican food in addition to Spanish rice. It was a big hit, and a great accompaniment to enchiladas. This recipe makes a LOT...a single recipe was more than enough for twelve people as a side. Next time I think I will also try using grated cheese instead of cubed...it got kind of glumpy, even though I used about a third less than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I thought this was just okay. Too much cheese, and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This sounds good but I use a a similar recipe from Rachael Ray that is Calabacitas Caserole with Polenta and Cheese. It has a lot more seasoning in it,less cheese and sliced polenta is layered on top before the cheese. Really good and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I've got to admit, I wasn't too sure about adding the sugar to this side dish with the veggies and cheese. But I did as the recipe said and LOVED the taste! The taste blended in well. My husband couldn't get enough of it and he usually prefers no veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari-Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Delicious but a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Maine, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States