Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Proof that there are delicious and healthier Mexican side dish alternatives for enchiladas other than rice and beans. (Due to Hubs’ sensitive innards I was forced to modify this recipe by significantly reducing the amount of corn so he could easily pick it out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Made this as a side with our grilled spicy chicken burgers. Followed the recipe exactly except I used Feta as the cheese. There were five adults at dinner - about 3 tablespoons left!!!! So fresh tasting. Everyone commented on the mingling of flavors. We voted - this is a keeper! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My favorite recipe! I am not a big fan of zucchini but I love love love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I use this site all the time but don't often post reviews. This recipe deserved a review. I've made it several times; it's is a fabulous way to use zucchini and fresh corn. I added bell peppers too. Instead of a poblano I used a habanero which gave it a nice smoky flavor. Like other posters I used feta, which was perfect. I had so much that I have transformed the extra into a delicious cream soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Great way to use up a bumper crop of zucchini. I added peri-peri instead of poblano and I used herbed goat cheese instead of cotija. But what really put this recipe over the top was using grilled corn cut off the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Excellent as written, even better if you skip the cilantro and sprinkle in about 1/4 tsp. cumin and for (or in addition to) the poblano pepper substitute a large jalapeno (seeded if you like so it won't be too spicy) and chopped, with the onions & garlic while sauteing in pan. We ate this as a main dish with four flour tortillas that I steamed one at a time over the simmering vegetables and buttered and stacked on warm plate. There are only two uf us and there were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i make this all the time, but when i use a can of whole corn and after veggies are done i sprinkle with monterey jack cheese, put a lid on and turm heat off and let it melt for about 5 minutesl .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Excellent! I even used frozen corn and it was great! I'm glad to have a new side dish to serve with Mexican food besides variations on rice and beans. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband said it was the best calabacitas I had ever made. I used fresh corn and roasted the chiles. I cut the zuccini on my mandolin for uniform slices. Will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a nice addition to steak and potatoes! I have had calabacitas before in a small Mexican restaurant that was delicious and this was a nice recreation! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States