Cake Pops by Duncan Hines® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
First try and came out wonderfully!! Make sure you tab your hand gently to get rid of excess coating. Make a few at a time and leave the rest in the fridge until ready to dip them. Love theses Cake Pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 8 year old niece and I made some this past weekend and these are great! And, it's an excellent activity for family time. I took the recommendations of others and baked the cake the night before. Turned out perfect! Quick note, in my opinion, the Wilton Candy Melts taste better than using Baker's white chocolate baking squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We LOVED these, despite how long they took to make. (Anything shaped by hand is going to take a while - it's not a function of the recipe you use) My kids would have eaten all of them immediately if I had let them. I read a lot of other recipes before trying these and here are some tips that I found...1. Crumble the cake into crumbs, not just into chunks, before adding the frosting so that you don't have any dry pieces of cake in the pops - that might make them more likely to break during the dipping and tapping process 2. don't tap the cake pops on the side of the bowl as this loosens the cake and they will fall off. Hold the pop by the stick and with your other hand, tap your hand. This causes the chocolate to drip off without shaking the ball so hard that it falls off. Only one of mine fell off when doing this, but that one was a bit loosely packed when I was making the ball 3. I had a little difficulty getting the chocolate to drip off so I held 2 dipped balls in one hand, did the tapping, then lightly touched the 2 together and that caused that last big blob of coating to fall off. The times I didn't do this, it dripped off when the pops were standing upright so it was better to get the excess coating off right after the tapping and back into the bowl instead of dripping onto the counter! I used the devil's food cake mix and dark chocolate fudge icing and they were so rich and fudgy! Tomorrow I'm going to use the yellow cake and vanilla icing with a few drops of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Taste great! Kids loved them even though they looked a mess! If I had made them they would have looked more like the pictures (I wish I took one of ours!) The reason I made them was for the process with the kids. Rolling out the balls the melting chocolate, crumbling up a cake, melting chocolate! These are all really fun things for a kid. I knew it would it would be a nightmare mess and my kitchen did look like a candy explosion as one other reviewer warned but it was a joyful mess! I like to think of it as a great memory and experience with my kids rather than a nightmare. Making messes like that with your mom is what being a kid is all about. Make these, just don't try and make them perfect! When the ball falls off the stick cover it with chocolate, scoop it out with a spoon, put it in a tray and stick the stick in the top, and put it in the fridge or freezer. Just have fun! We called them cake blobs on a stick and had a great time. We sent our messy blobs in as my daughters birthday treat and all the kids were impressed. Worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I had wanted to attempt cake pops for some time, but I was hesitant because I expected it to be a lot of work. It was, but the time and effort were well worth it! I made over 60 pops for a Halloween party and they were a smashing success! Everyone raved about how good they were; one guest ate 10 in a row! I enjoyed decorating them in fun and creative ways and I'm looking forward to coming up with new ideas this holiday season! I will say though, there is a fine line between too much frosting and not enough! I made one batch and they cracked a bit so I added more frosting the 2nd time and they were a little mushy and heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. For people who have had troubles, you really need to read through the directions carefully a few times, and have patience. They are simple, but if you're sloppy, they're sloppy. The coating didn't turn out to be perfectly smooth - it had more of a swirly texture to it - but that could have very well been a mess up on my part. I'm 16, and I love to make these when I have get together or study groups, and everyone loves them. I also like to try and use different cake/frosting mixes, for example, Red Velvet/Cream Cheese, White/Strawberry, and the Confetti mixes. I also found that making very thin cake layers, and then cutting them into quarters to crumble is much easier. I hope I helped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
TAPPING TIPS!! After swirling your pop in the candy coating, support your pop with a fork. Tap the fork on the edge of the bowl while loosely holding the stick to prevent the pop from falling off of the fork. When you're done tapping, lift the pop off of the fork and gently "kiss" the candy coating to cover up the fork print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjrbusiness
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
These cake pops were absolutely amazing! My cake pops were extremely tasty and I didn't make a lot of mess in the kitchen, but it took longer for me to prepare them, and I eliminated the sticks. I used the Duncan Hines Red Velvet with cream cheese frosting included in the package. After I crumbled the cake and mixed ALL of the frosting in, I made my balls then placed in the refrigerator overnight (on wax paper). The next day I melted Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate bars and dipped them completely (no sticks) and used two spoons to get them out and placed them on wax paper to "dry." Before they dried, I sprinkled with candy sprinkles. I tried to make them with the sticks, but my balls were slightly large and too heavy to stay on the them. I just put the finished cake pops in a baggie and they were ready to enjoy! (They didn't last long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I use. Yes, it is time consuming. Yes it is messy, but with a little practice and experimentation, you can have these down to a science in no time. Tip: make the cake ahead of time and freeze it. Crumble with the icing and freeze it again. As you shape the balls, they stick better. Freeze after making the balls and after inserting the stick. I put my stick into the candy before adding oil,mso it firms up a little more. I use a double boiler and it is much easier. Sometimes I pour a bit of melted candy into a glass tumbler so it is easier to coat the whole thing. If you leave the ball in the hot chocolate too long, it will melt and fall off. I learned this from experience and it is just common sense. I use homemade icing and they are even more delicious. Everyone ALWAYS wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Really easy to make and they taste great! Kids love them and they are perfect for bake sales! They do take some time and patience, but they are worth it. Much better than paying $2 each for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States