Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I used the white cake recipe without changing anything. The cupcakes turn out moist and light. In order to get the light/fluffy consistency, the egg whites need to be folded in. I will try the yellow cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Made the yellow cake tonight. Holy ! Delicious, light and fluffy, great texture and taste. Blows boxed cakes out of the water. This is my new go-to cake recipe. I used butter instead of shortening (not a fan of shortening really).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
LOVE THESE!!!! A GREAT OPTION FOR ME BECAUSE I'M ALLERGIC TO A LOT OF THINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This cake turned out super moist and fluffy (I made 2 of them).They were not dense at all. I find creaming the butter and sugar first easier them just throwing the first 5 ingredients together but other then that, the cake tastes great. The trick is to not over mix the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My 14 year old son made this recipe only he added cinnamon chips to it for a variation and it turned out wonderful on his first try. I have to say this is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love this recipie. This is great for carving once it has been in the freezer for a hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great and versatile recipe. I used oil rather than margarine, since I find using oil makes for a lighter less dense cake. I have made this recipe using an extra 1/2 cup of milk as some reviewers have suggested and sometimes using the amount specified. Tastes great either way. This is the procedure I follow to make this recipe nice and simple: First measure and sift the dry ingredients. In a seperate bowl measure and mix wet ingredients. Finally add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until well combined. Pour and bake according to directions. I have used this recipe to make white cake, yellow cake and chocolate cake. Each cake turned out yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was absolutely great. The only reason it didn't get the 5 stars was because I followed other suggestions and used 2 cups sugar and 1.5 cups of milk, as well as substituting oil for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to make, comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States