Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great and versatile recipe. I used oil rather than margarine, since I find using oil makes for a lighter less dense cake. I have made this recipe using an extra 1/2 cup of milk as some reviewers have suggested and sometimes using the amount specified. Tastes great either way. This is the procedure I follow to make this recipe nice and simple: First measure and sift the dry ingredients. In a seperate bowl measure and mix wet ingredients. Finally add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until well combined. Pour and bake according to directions. I have used this recipe to make white cake, yellow cake and chocolate cake. Each cake turned out yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was absolutely great. The only reason it didn't get the 5 stars was because I followed other suggestions and used 2 cups sugar and 1.5 cups of milk, as well as substituting oil for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to make, comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I was making a cake using a box mix and after taking the cake out of the pan I destroyed it. It was too late to run to the store so I used this recipe and I have to say I will never use a box mix again. I also like how you can "tweak" it to make different kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe! I did replace 1 cup butter for the shortening. (I just prefer butter) and it was fabulous!! My chocolate cake didn't come out as dark as the picture and it may be a little weak, so next time I might try adding more cocoa powder. But a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I just made a plain yellow cake, I used oil instead of shortening and doubled the vanilla. Turned out really good, its fairly dense yet fluffy. Its a great easy recipe with ingredients that are typically always in the cupboard! I will definitely try some of the variations of this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made the adjustments to the recipe using oil instead of shortening and used the 1 and half cups of milk and the cake turned out beautiful. It smelled wonderful while baking and tastes great with chocolate frosting. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minpinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
As the recipe is written, it's not very good. The cake was dense and tough. However, it was so fast to make! With some changes, it was phenominal. I didn't think it would turn out, but it did. You must sift the flour before measuring, or only use 2 cups instead of 2 1/3 cups. So it might be a problem in our American measuring system which go by volume and not by actual mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillaraah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good cake. A little heavier than most which I like. Stands up good to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Angora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States