Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome recipes and yes I too recommend the oil instead. This recipe has helped me to make other cakes as well..such as spice cake, fruit cake.ect. This cake recipe is so much better than the box and alot safer too. Thanks...here's a big 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I just baked the cupcakes using yellow cake recipe. I added extra 1/2 cup of milk and used oil instead of shorting like other reviewers had suggested. I cut down 1/4 cup of sugar and added 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips into the batter. I put all the dry ingredients and whisked them together then made a well in the middle and pour all wet ingredients except eggs and beat them till incorporate then put eggs one by one beat them each time till smooth. It came out nice and moist! I iced them with chocolate whipped cream mix-in crushed Oreo cookies. It was not too sweet, just the way we like it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved the quick idea and super easy to put together, but everytime I make this mix the cake comes out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I guess I will give this 4 stars because I used another user's recommendations. I made the white cake, but used oil instead of shortening (I NEVER use shortening as it's just an abomination). I mixed the wet ingredients in one bowl, sifted the dry ingredients into another bowl, and whisked the egg whites in a 3rd smaller bowl. I then folded the dry mix into the wet mix, and then folded the eggs into that mixture once all flour was wet. The batter made 15 cupcakes. They were fluffy, moist, and very vanilla-y, unlike a box mix that tastes extra sugary sweet. The first time I made it, it came out very dense, but flavorful. I tried again immediately after and realized I had accidentally added too much flour the first time (I was using a cup that was 2/3 cup, with 1/3 cup marker but filled it to 2/3) . The second time it came out perfect! I had also used up the last of my 2% milk on the first try, so I used almond milk on the second and it turned out great! This was my first real success at making a cake from scratch. I can't wait to experiment with the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopns
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Some other posters suggested to add oil instead of shortening, I couldn't agree more. I've made it both ways, hands down, use the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Recipe as written needs to be modified. I added a 1/2 a cup of liquid (milk,water juice) to recipe, used oil and whipped egg whites seperately and then folded it together. You can also add one package of pudding mix to make it extra moist. It is quite good. For those who don't like the taste this is not a box mix, it is a real cake. If you want that texture you have to use a lot of chemicals to get it. But for those attempting to avoid mixes this is a nice cake. I've tried the yellow and white versions. Both are very nice. Feel free to add sprinkles for a confetti look. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly for yellow and chocolate cakes, with the exception of using oil instead of shortening based on previous reviews. It still ended up terribly dry. The cocoa did not do much but change batter color, and the yellow cake not bad, but not very flavorful. If I try this recipe again, I'll have to make quite a few adjustments to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Excellent recipe! The cake has none of that "boxed" flavor. However, like others, I too, have tweaked it! My advise is: Place flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl and use a whisk to "sift". In your mixer bowl place sugar and 1/2 cup sweetened applesauce (this might help the sweetness problem others are having) and mix until sugar is well blended. Add eggs 1 at a time and use 3 eggs. With mixer running add flour mixture alternating with milk mixing well after each addition ending with flour mixture. I bake it in a bundt pan for 50-60 minutes. My variations: Orange cake add 1/2 cup orange juice and an extra 1/2 cup flour. Lemon cake same as orange. I made the spice cake and added 3 grated carrots to the batter. I add all kinds of fruit, chopped apples, or cherries, or whatever is in season. Nuts and/or mini chocolate chips are great too. Hope this helps others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
As has been suggested previously, use oil instead of shortening and this comes out great. Also use the pineapple juice if making the upside down pineapple cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
DRY! I made the white cake version and it was dry as can be. Pretty tasteless, my 6 year old grand daughter said it tasted like "cookie powder" which is flour. Sorry, won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States