Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Super delicious pineapple upside down cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I add 1 package of vanilla pudding and increased egges to 3. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for. It had a dry taste and texture. Wasn't as fluffy of a cake that I would have liked. Sorry, maybe I will try again later and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe except for substituting oil for the shortening, raw in the middle, tasted like flour will try again with shortening. I have been problems with baking white cakes lately due to high humidity. This time i used a different oven just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good recipe, I used it to make a yellow shaped cake and it rose nicely. I did as one reviewer suggested and changed shortening for oil and increased the milk. Perfect for when you don't want to or don't have time to get a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome recipes and yes I too recommend the oil instead. This recipe has helped me to make other cakes as well..such as spice cake, fruit cake.ect. This cake recipe is so much better than the box and alot safer too. Thanks...here's a big 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I just baked the cupcakes using yellow cake recipe. I added extra 1/2 cup of milk and used oil instead of shorting like other reviewers had suggested. I cut down 1/4 cup of sugar and added 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips into the batter. I put all the dry ingredients and whisked them together then made a well in the middle and pour all wet ingredients except eggs and beat them till incorporate then put eggs one by one beat them each time till smooth. It came out nice and moist! I iced them with chocolate whipped cream mix-in crushed Oreo cookies. It was not too sweet, just the way we like it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved the quick idea and super easy to put together, but everytime I make this mix the cake comes out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I guess I will give this 4 stars because I used another user's recommendations. I made the white cake, but used oil instead of shortening (I NEVER use shortening as it's just an abomination). I mixed the wet ingredients in one bowl, sifted the dry ingredients into another bowl, and whisked the egg whites in a 3rd smaller bowl. I then folded the dry mix into the wet mix, and then folded the eggs into that mixture once all flour was wet. The batter made 15 cupcakes. They were fluffy, moist, and very vanilla-y, unlike a box mix that tastes extra sugary sweet. The first time I made it, it came out very dense, but flavorful. I tried again immediately after and realized I had accidentally added too much flour the first time (I was using a cup that was 2/3 cup, with 1/3 cup marker but filled it to 2/3) . The second time it came out perfect! I had also used up the last of my 2% milk on the first try, so I used almond milk on the second and it turned out great! This was my first real success at making a cake from scratch. I can't wait to experiment with the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopns
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Some other posters suggested to add oil instead of shortening, I couldn't agree more. I've made it both ways, hands down, use the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States