Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very light and tasty...will cut back on the sugar the next time I make this recipe as it was a bit sweet for my taste. I used oil instead of shortening as suggested and I added about 1/4 cup more milk too. I made cupcakes (24) which baked with a dome top that was perfect for a poured fondant recipe I found here on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
We made the chocolate version. We are grateful to another reviewer for the oil substitution. It makes a big difference..the cake was so fluffy! This was amazingly easy. I will never buy another cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great base recipe. The yellow mix is fabulous; very fluffy and moist. I tried the chocolate and I was disappointed. It needs more cocoa. My husband didn't even know it was chocolate. I have been looking for something that I could use in replace of store bought cake mixes and this is definitely it. It just needs a tweak or two to make it work for me. No more chemically enhanced cake mixes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Eastin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Fantastic! Exactly what a homemade/from scratch cake should be. I've made it with shortening and with oil both are great (oil is a bit lighter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I followed the directions and they came out tasting like cornbread!! I have no idea what the heck I did wrong. So, for cornbread it's pretty good but for cake mix it was pretty gross. Did the yellow cake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I really appreciate this recipe for scratch cake. My husband is on a low sodium diet. When I make something from scratch, I use low sodium baking powder. It really lowers the sodium count for recipes. Thanks Linda/Mi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Okay, I read all the reviews that said "more flavor", and after making the chocolate variety (w/ the oil sub.) and the texture being great but it not being chocolatey at all... I thought -they can't all be wrong- so I increased the sugar to 2 c. and WHAT A MESS! The whole thing went FLAT and it was like a sugar cookie topped cake and the middle was too moist! My suggestion (and my husbands) kick up the flavor DON'T touch the rest of the recipe (oh, except for the oil sub. - that's a keeper! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this with the suggestions of using oil and more milk and the texture was light and fluffy. The yellow cake had no flavor. Great texture, but without the icing this would have tasted like air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This cake got such good reviews overall that I had to try it. I live overseas and don't have any cake mixes available. I made the chocolate version, following quantities exactly but replacing shortening with oil and mixing first dry, then wet, dry into wet and then eggs (as rec'd by so many reviews). It was the most tasteless cake I've ever had. It's a good thing I found a yummy icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I was not impressed. I don't use cake mixes from boxes and I am constantly searching for a good yellow cake from scratch...in my opinion this is not it. The hunt is still on. I was willing to even give it 2 stars because taste is relative. Too heavy, poor flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States