Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for chocolate cupcakes. They turned out nice and moist, but the flavor just wasn't was I was looking for. I woud try again one of the different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Definitely have to mix the wet ingredients first, add the sugar, then the other dry ingredients. Then it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Used this recipe to make some cupcakes and got positive responses from everyone. Used the suggestions and added more milk and used oil instead of shortening. Texture turned out great. I kind of messed up on the egg whites in the beginning but after adding a tbsp. of sugar and 1/8 tsp. of cream and tartar it stiffened correctly. Will try this recipe out again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'll never buy a boxed mix again! No reason to! This recipe is super easy and super delicious. I used these for cupcakes and they came out soft, light and moist. The were the perfect consistency and taste. I tried just the vanilla cake mix, the next time I'll try the variations. Very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very light and tasty...will cut back on the sugar the next time I make this recipe as it was a bit sweet for my taste. I used oil instead of shortening as suggested and I added about 1/4 cup more milk too. I made cupcakes (24) which baked with a dome top that was perfect for a poured fondant recipe I found here on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
We made the chocolate version. We are grateful to another reviewer for the oil substitution. It makes a big difference..the cake was so fluffy! This was amazingly easy. I will never buy another cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great base recipe. The yellow mix is fabulous; very fluffy and moist. I tried the chocolate and I was disappointed. It needs more cocoa. My husband didn't even know it was chocolate. I have been looking for something that I could use in replace of store bought cake mixes and this is definitely it. It just needs a tweak or two to make it work for me. No more chemically enhanced cake mixes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Eastin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Fantastic! Exactly what a homemade/from scratch cake should be. I've made it with shortening and with oil both are great (oil is a bit lighter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I followed the directions and they came out tasting like cornbread!! I have no idea what the heck I did wrong. So, for cornbread it's pretty good but for cake mix it was pretty gross. Did the yellow cake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I really appreciate this recipe for scratch cake. My husband is on a low sodium diet. When I make something from scratch, I use low sodium baking powder. It really lowers the sodium count for recipes. Thanks Linda/Mi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States