Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super good. I used all organic ingredients, and it came out lovely and fairly wholesome. I whipped my eggs and then folded them into the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful homemade cake recipe. As other reviewers suggested I sifted the flour for the white cake recipe, subbed oil for the shortening, and I folded in beaten egg whites last. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I am completely aware that this is my fault and in no means the recipe, but I made the lemon cake variation and it was not good at all. all I tasted was the baking powder. I am sadly known for my cakes tasting like baking powder or baking soda. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I even put half the amount of what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've made the spice cake and the chocolate version of this so far, using the recommended oil and extra milk. The spice cake is wonderful. The chocolate could use a bit more cocoa powder (maybe even twice as much) but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried the yellow cake, I've been searching for a yellow cake recipe similar to the box cake mix since I am currently living in a third world country and have no access to box cake mix. This recipe was as close as I've gotten. The consistency was very good but I can't say the same about the taste. Any suggestions on how to make it taste less floury and more cakey? Any suggestions will be appreciated! I followed the reviewers suggestions adding 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening and 1/2 more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Moist and amazing. I made this once with olive oil which was really good, and a second time with just a few tablespoons of oil and the rest applesauce...Still amazing and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made the white version-sifted the dry TWICE, and beat the egg whites as recommended, used Crisco and followed EXACTLY---corn bread texture, taste OK but none of kids at it the party ate it ---I should have used a mix--safer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used this recipe to make white cake. It was good, but very dense. You may want to add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for chocolate cupcakes. They turned out nice and moist, but the flavor just wasn't was I was looking for. I woud try again one of the different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Definitely have to mix the wet ingredients first, add the sugar, then the other dry ingredients. Then it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States