Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Absolutely the BEST cake I've ever made!!! I followed the prior suggestions of using oil instead of shortening, and increasing the milk to 1 1/2 C. I made mine almond flavored by using 1/2 tsp of almond extract, with 1/2 tsp vanilla, instead of the 1 tsp vanilla. I don't have a sifter so I made sure to avoid packing down the dry ingredients and mixed them loosely with a fork. My fiance and I both raved about it and I can't wait to try the other variations, playing around with new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good but had to back a little longer due to oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super good. I used all organic ingredients, and it came out lovely and fairly wholesome. I whipped my eggs and then folded them into the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful homemade cake recipe. As other reviewers suggested I sifted the flour for the white cake recipe, subbed oil for the shortening, and I folded in beaten egg whites last. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I am completely aware that this is my fault and in no means the recipe, but I made the lemon cake variation and it was not good at all. all I tasted was the baking powder. I am sadly known for my cakes tasting like baking powder or baking soda. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I even put half the amount of what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've made the spice cake and the chocolate version of this so far, using the recommended oil and extra milk. The spice cake is wonderful. The chocolate could use a bit more cocoa powder (maybe even twice as much) but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried the yellow cake, I've been searching for a yellow cake recipe similar to the box cake mix since I am currently living in a third world country and have no access to box cake mix. This recipe was as close as I've gotten. The consistency was very good but I can't say the same about the taste. Any suggestions on how to make it taste less floury and more cakey? Any suggestions will be appreciated! I followed the reviewers suggestions adding 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening and 1/2 more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Moist and amazing. I made this once with olive oil which was really good, and a second time with just a few tablespoons of oil and the rest applesauce...Still amazing and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made the white version-sifted the dry TWICE, and beat the egg whites as recommended, used Crisco and followed EXACTLY---corn bread texture, taste OK but none of kids at it the party ate it ---I should have used a mix--safer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used this recipe to make white cake. It was good, but very dense. You may want to add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake

Displaying results 121-130 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States