Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Followed the advice of increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups and using oil instead of shortening. It came out very moist. No more box mix, I finally found a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylerdreier
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I thought this recipe was really great and easy! They kind of tastedlike sugar cookies in my opinion and I loved it, I thought they were really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
didnt like it at all, i tried w/ both oil and shortheing version. tastes like a sugar dough with baking powder. I am quite a good baker, and think will go back to butter sugar creaming method,, normal cake baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Turned out fantastic! Kids loved it and it was super easy to make. I did the white cake version and after reading some reviews, substituted the veg oil. It was my first ever cake from scratch, and I will never use a box again! Soo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is a very very dence cake! After trying a small peice, I decided to turn it into a jello poke cake with cool whip frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this is a very dense cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camismommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
THis did NOT go well for me a all i had a teribble time with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom&daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richland Center, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
AWESOME!!!! I made the yellow cake version and used it in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe. I tweaked it a bit as per the other reviewers' suggestions. I used oil instead of shortening, I sifted my flour and I made sure not to "play around" with the flour too much while mixing it in with the eggs , milk etc. Also, because I was using the cake in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe, I used 1 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. The result was a delicious moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is quick, easy, and delicious! I liked it a lot, and my dad really liked it. Review by my 11 year old daughter who has made this several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
everybody loves this recipe, i made pineapple upsidedown cake with this recipe and came out soooo finger kicking good. i also made chocolate cake with it it was also very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States