Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a lovely cake recipe. Every time I have baked it the results have been delicious--including multiple variations. It is never like boxed cake mixes, thank goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maharet21
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My cake is cooking currently and it smells and looks amazing. The only problem is that I just realized that I misread the variations for the white cake and instead of using only 3 egg whites I used 3 egg whites and 2 whole eggs! I misread what she wrote. I hope this doesn't mess up my cake lol. I added extra milk an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. And I reduce the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup. also I used oil instead of shortening. with all these changes I can only give 4 stars. *update*so I tried it today and it tastes exactly like a pound cake was a little bit less sugar so I just sprinkle some powdered sugar on top and it tastes great. Too bad I messed up the recipe I just wanted a plane in white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maharet21

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have tried both the yellow and the chocolate variations. Both turned out great! This yellow cake has become my go-to need a cake in a pinch recipe and living in a country where hospitality is paramount, that is really saying something! Thanks for the easy to follow recipe featuring simple ingredients which are truly available just about anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Be sure to either use less flour or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
First time i made this! Turned out great! Better then store brands and you know whats in it! Used this for better then sex cake cause it called for a yellow cake mix! Yummy! Lilly 11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Yum - made with 1.5 cups milk. Otherwise just as written for the chocolate variety. Yummy. Not dense, no problems. And best of all simple with standard ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
WOW I cant believe my cake worked !!! Im so shocked ... My cakes never work out not even the boxed ones.. Im glad this one worked cuz its my birthday and I baked it for me and the family !! First I sprayed my pan with nonstick spray then mixed 1 stick of melted butter with 2/3 cups of brown sugar and poured onto the bottom of the pan..topped the sugar/butter mixture with pineapple rings..then I thought I messed up the cake batter beacuse I thought I added only a 1 tsp of baking powder instead of a 1 tablespoon either way it looks so good.. I did however use 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice in place of the 1 cup of milk.. 1 stick of real butter instead of shorting.. 3 eggs instead of 2..mixed the dry .. then the wet.. then combined both dry and wet..then into the mixture I added a smashed over ripe banana.. set the cake mixture asside...and wow it looks so beautiful I cant believe I baked that!! gonna run to the store pickup some cherries and place cherries in the pineapple rings.. Because this came out so good I I created a password and userid now im a member !! LOL added this to my Recipe Box I love this !! Thanks so much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
omg very good recipe exactly liked box mix. You can manipulate this and make a ton of cakes w/ this. I will most definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a very good recipe. If you want it moister go for an extra egg. Plus I found if making chocolate cake mix, baking soda seems to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I've used this yellow cake for 4 yrs now. Last year, I tried the pineapple upside down cake variation for my husband's birthday & he's asking for it again this year. It's always turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States