Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was excellent, although if I were to ever make one cake out of this I would use 3 eggs. I also used butter flavored shortening, and was so pleased with the results that I will stick with that next time, too. The reason I suggest 3 eggs is that my 6 year old wanted to make "chocolate, vanilla and strawberry" cupcakes with the baking set she got today that included a mini-muffin pan. So, we split the dry batter (flour, baking powder, sugar and shortening) three ways: added a heaping tbsp. of cocoa for the chocolate; about 2 tsp strawberry gelatin (we used the kind with sugar - if using sugar free, you would obviously reduce the amount) for the strawberry and left the plain as is for vanilla. Added one egg, 1 tsp vanilla and close to 1/2 cup milk to each batch. Seriously, the best-tasting, moistest homemade cupcakes I have ever made. And so easy, my daughter could do most of it herself! We actually beat everything by hand until the batters were a smooth, pourable consistency. We got twelve mini-cupcakes of each flavor, plus had enough batter to make a 6" vanilla, chocolate & strawberry marble cake (for Dad!) So my advice - use three eggs, a little more vanilla, butter-flavored shortening and probably closer to 1 3/4 cup milk total. Tastes nothing like a box mix, but a great homemade (and EASY!) cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe for a baby shower and everyone raved about it. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was looking for a cake recipe that i could make from scratch and get a box mix type of flavour and texture, but as other reviewers i have to agree its not like the box mixes at all. I used oil and increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups.. the result... the cake rose beautifully, was golden brown on the outside and white on the inside flavour= fresh out of the oven it tasted like flour, oil and eggs, kind of sticky although when i checked to see if it was done the toothpick came out clean... 2 days later, the flavour was MUCH better, not at all like it was the first day. texture= very soft and moist in the end i think if i ever make this again i will make it a day or two before i need it coz it really changes the flavour to resemble a box cake to some extent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Terrific base recipe. I baked the yellow cake today to take to a church function and it was a huge hit. I used 1/2 cup softened butter instead of shortening and added 1 cup of sour cream to the mixture and baked in a bundt pan at 325 for 50 minutes. The cake was so moist it was falling apart! I also made an orange glaze and drizzled over the entire cake. This recipe is so much better (and cheaper) than buying box cake mixes and it takes no time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Super delicious pineapple upside down cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I add 1 package of vanilla pudding and increased egges to 3. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for. It had a dry taste and texture. Wasn't as fluffy of a cake that I would have liked. Sorry, maybe I will try again later and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe except for substituting oil for the shortening, raw in the middle, tasted like flour will try again with shortening. I have been problems with baking white cakes lately due to high humidity. This time i used a different oven just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good recipe, I used it to make a yellow shaped cake and it rose nicely. I did as one reviewer suggested and changed shortening for oil and increased the milk. Perfect for when you don't want to or don't have time to get a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome recipes and yes I too recommend the oil instead. This recipe has helped me to make other cakes as well..such as spice cake, fruit cake.ect. This cake recipe is so much better than the box and alot safer too. Thanks...here's a big 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States