Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
goodbye boxed cake mix! I made the chocolate version. Only change I made was to use canola oil instead of shortening. It tasted like it came from a bakery...fresh, perfectly dense, yet moist. I made 6 jumbo cupcakes (Wilton's 6- 2 piece cupcake pan) and just put frosting between the layers & on top cause the sides didn't need to be "hidden" by the delicious tasting cake! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Awesome Recipe. This cakes tastes like it came from the bakery! Reminds me of a European recipe or wedding cake. It is a denser cake but comes out delish! I made no changes to this recipe and it made a beautiful birthday cake! Can't wait to try out some variations, i.e. lemon, or chocolate. thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this recipe today [yellow cake with organge extract] but I made one important change: the way the batter is mixed. I hate to cut in and thought there might be a way to avoid it. Here is the streamlined version: Wisk together/stir together/sift flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center and add shortening, milk, extract, and eggs. Mix on low for 1 minute, scraping bowl as needed. Increase mixer speed to high and beat two minutes longer, scraping bowl down as needed. Pour into prepared pan and bake. The cake was light,moist, and tasty. Adding more or even double the extract is not a bad idea; my cake was very lightly orange flavored. I read a number of reviews and have some suggestions for those of you who had trouble with this recipe: 1. Check your baking powder. Is it outdated? Also shake your baking powder before measuring it or it may not leaven correctly. 2. Time yourself when mixing. You may think you've mixed the batter for 2 minutes, but have you really? Try this recipe--you may never open another box of cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
THIS WAS SO GOOOOD!!!! MY family loved it. I did as the directions said for yellow cake. Because I saw the blended batter a little thick I added 3/4 cup of pear juice (I was originally going to add the pineapple for upside down pineapple cake but I only had canned pears.) DELICIOUS!! I cooked it for 35-38 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beach Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
As mnay have already pointed out this is a great base recipe on its own, however for a tastier and less dense versions changes are best . For me, I used the cake flour and sifted it along with some of the dry ingredients. I increases the sugar by half a cup which I added to the dry, the remaining sugar I creamed with 1/2 butter and 1/2 cup of oil. I then added 3 eggs and 1 tsp of pure vanilla. The I added the wet to the dry and folded them together, just adding enough milk to get the right consistency, definentialy not a cup of milk, 1/3 at the most. note the consistency was smooth and on the runny side. turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
i gave 4 stars because i put my own spin to this. i did 3 substitutions all the same amount though. i traded the shortning for butter, vanilla extract for almond extract and white sugar to brown sugar. turned out amazing and ohhhhh so yummy! it's got a great sweetness to it, especially if you're not the biggest frosting fan like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
For Independence Day, we decided to make a cake -independent from a box! (we also forgot to buy cake mix and my kiddos were begging for a cake) We made the yellow cake, substituting Saffron oil for the shortening and added a bit more milk (soy milk, actually). The cake fit in one 9" pan and needed about 33 mins in my electric oven (I lowered the heat to 325 after 28 mins) Topped it off with icing from scratch (no-egg butter cream, which was awesome) and it was huge hit. Denser than the typical box cake, but delicious! We're never going back to the box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Recently made the yellow cake and changed it to what previous reviewers said (1 1/2 cup of milk, vegetable oil instead of shortening). It was really good and really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
the cake recipe is good but I found it didnt fluff up like packaged mix's. for the upside down cake I use a packaged mix but use the pineapple recipe given. It turns out awesome everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Vancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
THANKS!!!just what I wuz lookin' fer---made peach cobbler and used the recipe on the peach can and not near sweet enough this is PURRRFECT---since on low sodium diet can skip the salt and also use fake suggah, yes I can spell, was in spelling bee in school, just love playing with words---yep and skip all those chemicals that we have NO idea what the hec they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mulberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States