Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made the adjustments to the recipe using oil instead of shortening and used the 1 and half cups of milk and the cake turned out beautiful. It smelled wonderful while baking and tastes great with chocolate frosting. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minpinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
As the recipe is written, it's not very good. The cake was dense and tough. However, it was so fast to make! With some changes, it was phenominal. I didn't think it would turn out, but it did. You must sift the flour before measuring, or only use 2 cups instead of 2 1/3 cups. So it might be a problem in our American measuring system which go by volume and not by actual mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillaraah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good cake. A little heavier than most which I like. Stands up good to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Angora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is my go-to recipe for cake. Its perfect for people who bake simple cakes frequently, but prefer to control the ingredients. These cakes are nearly as easy as from the box, but without the chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Amazing!!! I tried it with no shortening (olive oil), using cake flour, and only using 1/2 cup of sugar instead. The result is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
5 stars for ease. 5 stars on time. 4 stars of flexibility and customization. 3 stars on texture. 2 stars on taste. Used oil and 25% more milk for a moist cake. Rose very well. Iced very well. Held up to handling (9" round pan). But the tatse was similar to a store cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
this is my first really bad review...i love to bake and i have baked plenty of cakes found on this site, but this recipe was a complete disaster. I followed suggestions that other people made---used oil instead of shortening, increased milk, and used new baking powder. i even used cake flour and was very careful not to over mix. i will have to agree with one that said it tasted like sugar dough and one who commented on the texture being like cornbread. i'm glad it worked for some people, wish it worked for me....but i definitely won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Followed the advice of increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups and using oil instead of shortening. It came out very moist. No more box mix, I finally found a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylerdreier
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I thought this recipe was really great and easy! They kind of tastedlike sugar cookies in my opinion and I loved it, I thought they were really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
didnt like it at all, i tried w/ both oil and shortheing version. tastes like a sugar dough with baking powder. I am quite a good baker, and think will go back to butter sugar creaming method,, normal cake baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States