Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
this recipe saved me! Had intended to do overnight rolls and forgot to make the dough last night. Had a box of "Jiffy" brand yellow mix in the cupboard intending to make a cinnamon roll recipe so that worked perfectly since it is 9 oz exactly. No where in the recipe did it say to knead the dough. I did knead the dough until it had the sheen. This is a sticky dough but I just kept flouring my board. I let it rise in a warmed oven for 1 hour and rose nicely double in bulk. The dough will appear too sticky to be able to roll into anything but I just floured my board and rolling pin and this dough was actually beautiful to work with. Used the pizza cutter to slice into sections and it did not stick to the board at all. Cut each round into 12 sections and used real butter instead of margarine. They are a sweeter roll but not sickening. They baked up like a picture. did some poppy seed, sesame seed, and left some plain. buttery good. Really no need to use butter. The only thing I would suggest is a bit of salt added to the second cup of flour when making the dough. Salt added directly to yeast mixture can kill the yeast. Thanks for this nice recipe with a surprisingly lovely dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I put the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle. When it is finished, I just roll them up and bake them. I do use bread flour, which makes a more tender roll. My friends all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
FOREVER I have been looking for a sweet dinner roll recipe that I would be proud to make for guests. This is so delicious. I have made them twice for parties and I am constantly asked for the recipe. Thank you for making me a big hit! This are so good, they just melt in your mouth! A HUGE WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Just made this in my bread machine using the "dough only" cycle. I used yeast, water, cake mix and bread flour. I omitted poppy seeds, egg and margarine steps. After the dough cycle was done I cut dough into 24 peices and let rise on cookie sheet and baked at 350 till light brown. YUMMY! Light and Fluffy! The cake mix did the trick! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
If I had not made them, I would not have believed how good this were and I believe in making breads from scratch! Sweet but not too sweet for dinner. Don't let the dough get too stiff - keep it slightly sticky. I just made regular rolls - no rolling into crescents. Did great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
My family enjoyed these rolls for dinner. They were sweet, but not overbearing. They were also dense, but I personally enjoy hearty breads. I did let them rise about 1 1/2 hours for the first rising and 1 hour for the second. I baked them about 5 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour, which may have contributed to the more successful outcome I achieved versus other commenters. I also shaped them as buns, rather than crescents, and tucked them into a round cake pan. I might try adding a second package of yeast next time...and there will be a next time. Edited to add: I figured out my problem with the longer rising time... the recipe calls for 9 oz cake mix, all the reguarl ones at the store are 18 oz. I made this again using only 1/2 the box and there was no problem. RDI! These are now the official holiday rolls at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Great for a family! These are truly moist and soft. I make them for the teachers at my school and they dissapear as soon as they hit the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We love these rolls! I used two packages of yeast instead of one,I used Sesame Seeds instead of Poppy, and cut each circle into 12 instead of 10. I froze one batch all rolled up and ready to rise and bake for our company on Thanksgiving! We will definately be serving these rolls alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I'm giving this recipe five stars for now. I just wanted to put up a review that included this warning : Check your box of cake mix! The recipe calls for a 9 oz. box, when the standard cake mix box is twice that. I made these rolls last night and they were definately not dinner rolls. They are way too sweet and cakey. I used the whole box. I was prepared to leave a scathing review, but realized I messed it up. I will try this recipe again and leave a new review. BE AWARE OF THE CAKE MIX AMOUNTS! These are great sweet rolls to have with coffee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States