Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I'm so glad I read some comments before starting this, because I may not have noticed it only calls for 9 ounces of cake mix! Whew! These rolls turned out so good, rose up HUGE, and were so easy! Definitely a five star recipe for me that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T and it was terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe gets 5 stars from me because it's easy. Turns out each time no matter what I do with it. I've braided it, made sub sandwiches out of it and rolls. It turns out pretty and most importantly it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I really like these. I use pillsburry yellow cake mix and used 1 1/4c and these turn out really good. They are slightly sweet, fluffy and delicious. I love these--they are quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wow, this is a delicious yeast roll. I am new to using yeast, so rather than stirring and letting it rise, I threw all the ingredients in to the bread machine on the manual cycle. Once it was done, I worked in another 1/2 cup of flour to get the dough to roll out in the circle. I used a 9 oz. Jiffy (R) cake mix in this recipe. I did not brush with the egg white or use the poppy seeds. Just formed in crescent shape and baked. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Super Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Made these and let my Kitchen Aid mixer do all the work. This dough is so wonderful to work with. I did add 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour because the dough was too sticky. For me, it took the dough about 1 1/2 hours to double in size. I did not brush with egg whites or sprinkle with poppy seeds only with butter when I removed them from the oven. There are two things I will do differently next time: First, I will add salt to the dough during the mixing process and secondly, I will divide the dough into thirds because by only dividing in half, the rolls are much bigger than I prefer. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I mixed mine in the bread machine on the dough setting (because I'm lazy, lol). My only issue was that I had to add more flour than called for (maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup extra). the dough was so fluffy and a real joy to work with. I cut each circle into 12 wedges, so I got 24 rolls out of this recipe. I didn't brush them w/ anything before baking, but as soon as they came out of the oven, I brushed 1/2 of them w/ melted butter and sprinkled some w/ poppy seeds. The other 1/2, I allowed to cool and froze them for another time. I couldn't wait until dinner to try these, so I did....they are light, fluffy and delicious w/ great flavor...not too sweet, just right! To those that had issue, it seems to be that the size cake mix was off...I used a 9oz. box of Jiffy yellow cake mix...PERFECT! These will def be made again and again...they couldn't be simplier~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My sister recommended this to me. I didn't do the egg whites or poppy seeds because I'm boring, but I LOVED them. I made them for Thanksgiving and couldn't stop eating them. I ate leftovers for breakfast the next day too. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. I do a little catering on the side and made these for a few events, always to rave reviews. I'm getting married in a few weeks and am looking forward to using this recipe again for the reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States