Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
These were just eh. I followed the advice and added 2T of oil and some vanilla and they still turned out pretty dry. Not what I was looking for. I had my heart set on chewy cookies, but live and learn! Not like I threw them away or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These are good. I did follow other reviews and added 2 tbsp of vegetable oil. They do spread out quite a bit I would use a dark pan vs light pan). I stored them in a Tupperware container, and they still tasted light and fluffy after a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
So glad to find this recipe! I used rainbow chip cake mix and chocolate ships. YUM! That's what is great about this recipe, you can use any flavor mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Super easy. I thought that these would be rich enough so didn't add the chocolate chips, but did add 2-3 tsp of peppermint flavoring. They taste really close to girl scout thin mints, yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I loved how easy these cookies were. I really like that you can be creative by just changing the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I used 2 eggs and 1/2 cup shortening or oil. The cookies rise more and are moist. Also, I take them out when they are not quite done and let them finish baking on the tray while it cools. SOOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Amazingly quick to make. A great fallback as these are ingredients that we'd always have on hand. I too added 2 TBSP veg oil & 1 tsp vanilla but it still tastes "cakey" to me. I think that I'd follow the advice of 1 egg+1 yolk next time instead of 2 eggs. Used 1/2c dark M&Ms + 1/2c semi sweet chips and would just use the chips next time (the M&Ms made them a bit too sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I've made these cookies 3 times now (chocolate with vanilla frosting & sprinkles, chocolate with mini Reese's pieces and funfetti with matching frosting) and I've received RAVE reviews every time! The possibilities are endless with these cookies. Took 10 minutes to bake (the funfetti took a little longer) but seconds to disappear. This is my simple quick go to cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele_One_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I made lemon cookies, they were very nice. simple and easy !!! great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Dealing with reality, cake mix cookies are not going to taste homemade, but like cake mix. So, my 4 star rating is based on the recipe, not the taste. I felt the mixture was a bit dry and added a little vanilla for some extra liquid (and flavor). Outside of that, it is what it is--a very quick recipe for cookies that are chewy and taste like a cake mix. That's what I wanted the evening I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States