Cake Mix Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
It’s a great recipe with adjustments!! Otherwise it wouldn’t have received 5 stars. I took the advice and added 1Tbsp of water to the recipe. It was still crumbly (dough pulling away from the chips) and when baked grainy in texture-ugh! I added more water and reworked the dough. Then the cookie had more of a cookie dough consistency and baked nicely. The cookies spread and had a much better chewy texture!!! I really liked the adjusted cookie recipe. The combinations are endless Here are my changes/recommendations: Devil’s food cake mix (with pudding in the mix), white chocolate chips, 3 Tbsp water, baked at 350 for 10 minutes(not 7)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I made these for the UT VOLS / Fla Gator football game tonight. I truly didn't have high hopes for this recipe when I was mixing these up, the batter just didn't seem right. I added 1 TSP of water. I used devils food cake mix and white chocolate chunks and let me tell you - these are out of this world! To be so easy these were very good! I think those that might not be getting good results might want to change cake mixes. I used a mix that had pudding in it. Thanks for the post! I am going to try different variations for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
These are good if you add 2-3 T. of water to the dough..otherwise the dough doesn't spread at all when baked..my first batch of cookies w/o water had the same shape when they were done as they did when i put them it! then i added 2 T. water and the rest of them were fine. i used choc. cake mix with choc. chips and walnuts, the walnuts helped them not to be so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
These cookies are fantastic. I used a devil's food cake mix and peanut butter chips, and carefully followed the 10 minute on-the-pan cooling time. The baking time was also about right for my oven. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and did not find these cookies oily at all. I did find the batter very crumbly and difficult to get on the cookie sheet. I was trying to use a scoop to do this and had to reform the cookies after scooping out of the bowl. Also, the cookies do not spread a lot. I don't have an issue with that, if you like thin crisp cookies you should be warned. I used a triple chocolate cake mix and Andes mint chips. After making both this recipe and Cake Mix Cookies I, my husband decided he liked this recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My husband came home from work and said that I needed to make cookies made with strawberry cake mix and white chocolate chips (of course he had no recipe). So I found this recipe and used stawberry cake mix and semi-sweet chocolate and white chocolate swirl chips. OMG!!! They are so good!! My husband says that they are better with just the white chocolate but I like these! I still have a batch in the oven now! I do have to cook them for almost 15 min to get them to the point that they don't fall apart when you pick them up. I will defiantly make these often!!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMSLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Texas, USA
Living In: Selma, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
Wow! These were fast, easy and a big hit. I had rainbow chips in the cupboard but didn't know what to do with them. I added them with french vanilla cake mix and this recipie turned out great. (but a little on the sweet side) My family devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
My girls and I just made these and they were great! I always thought that cookies made with cake mix would be...well cakey. They were nothing like that. I used a butter cake mix and didn't have enough semi sweet chips so I mixed semi sweet and milk choc chips. I left them in the oven for @ 9 min. They don't look done, but after they cool it's great. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was the worst recipe I've ever made. The cookies tasted like grease balls. There is too much oil in them. I don't understand how it got such good reviews from others. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I've made cake mix cookies before and didn't care for the 'cakey' taste. These, however, are amazing! I thought that the brown sugar might make them too sweet but it didn't. These are chewy and moist. I added walnuts for the second batch instead of the chips and they were just like brownies! For reference, I used BC Devil's Food and, instead of adding water like others' have suggested, I just dampened my hands when I rolled them into balls. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States