Cake Mix Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
ok but not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Add another egg and that should help matters greatly. Any cake mix cookies (where the cake mix is 18.25 ounces) should have 2 eggs and 1/3 cup of oil - cannot see any sense in adding brown sugar! If you have to mess around with adding water--why bother!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Barely edible. Chips didn't melt at all and the dough was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
When you are looking for easy, quick and SWEET, these are just right. For those of us who love fresh baked cookies, but really don't enjoy the measuring, mixing and time involved in baking from scratch, this recipe fits the bill. I loved the creativity we were able to add to our cookie recipe. We needed cookies for the annual Christmas Cookie swap we host at our house each year, and so we chose a white cake mix with cherry chips and red velvet cake mix with white chocolate chips for the festive colors. They turned out delicious! My recommendation is to use 2/3 cup of oil instead of 3/4 cup and add 3 T of water. Let them sit on the cookie sheet for about 3 minutes after they come out of the oven to set up. Then transfer to a cooling rack and the won't break at all. Unless someone is trying to grab it out of your hand, which is likely as tasty as they are. Warning: They are really SWEET--perfect for the occasional holiday treat. But that's why they only get 4 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
So simple. I used the holiday red/white and green/white striped chips in the chocolate mix. Very festive. Baked 8 minutes. Slid off the pan in 5 min. Did not need to leave on pan 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My husband came home from work and said that I needed to make cookies made with strawberry cake mix and white chocolate chips (of course he had no recipe). So I found this recipe and used stawberry cake mix and semi-sweet chocolate and white chocolate swirl chips. OMG!!! They are so good!! My husband says that they are better with just the white chocolate but I like these! I still have a batch in the oven now! I do have to cook them for almost 15 min to get them to the point that they don't fall apart when you pick them up. I will defiantly make these often!!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMSLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Texas, USA
Living In: Selma, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Perfect cookies and so easy. Only got 30 cookies out of it and added a tbsp of water per reviews. Tried orange cake with chips swirled of white and dark chocolate. Unique taste but I'm just rating the recipe. Would like to try some other combos because the concept is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
2 cups of chips is way too many. I ought to have used just 1 cup. I had awful trouble trying to form the dough since all those chips made it crumbly. Very sweet, too. I don't think they need that extra 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
It’s a great recipe with adjustments!! Otherwise it wouldn’t have received 5 stars. I took the advice and added 1Tbsp of water to the recipe. It was still crumbly (dough pulling away from the chips) and when baked grainy in texture-ugh! I added more water and reworked the dough. Then the cookie had more of a cookie dough consistency and baked nicely. The cookies spread and had a much better chewy texture!!! I really liked the adjusted cookie recipe. The combinations are endless Here are my changes/recommendations: Devil’s food cake mix (with pudding in the mix), white chocolate chips, 3 Tbsp water, baked at 350 for 10 minutes(not 7)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These are definitely not the best cookie recipe ever, but I had these cookies in the oven within 5 minutes of finding the recipe. For a pregnant lady with a serious craving, they were perfect. I was weary of adding sugar to the cake mix, but I think the flavor was great. (I used a white cake mix, no chips.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States