Cake Mix Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and did not find these cookies oily at all. I did find the batter very crumbly and difficult to get on the cookie sheet. I was trying to use a scoop to do this and had to reform the cookies after scooping out of the bowl. Also, the cookies do not spread a lot. I don't have an issue with that, if you like thin crisp cookies you should be warned. I used a triple chocolate cake mix and Andes mint chips. After making both this recipe and Cake Mix Cookies I, my husband decided he liked this recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
These cookies are fantastic. I used a devil's food cake mix and peanut butter chips, and carefully followed the 10 minute on-the-pan cooling time. The baking time was also about right for my oven. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe worked great for me. I needed a lot and didn't have two similar cake mixes so I used yellow and chocolate for a marbled effect. I must say that was difficult due to the consistancy of the dough. Added white and milk chocolate chips cause that's what I had. These were our favorite at the cookie exchange we took them to. Chilled overnight the dough was perfect to use with a cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Delicious and sooo easy! I did use my Kitchen Aid mixer. The dough seemed a little oily but the cookies turned out great. Endless combinations of cake mixes and add-ins. My 5 year old and 2 year old loved helping to make these, and to eat them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
My girls and I just made these and they were great! I always thought that cookies made with cake mix would be...well cakey. They were nothing like that. I used a butter cake mix and didn't have enough semi sweet chips so I mixed semi sweet and milk choc chips. I left them in the oven for @ 9 min. They don't look done, but after they cool it's great. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was the worst recipe I've ever made. The cookies tasted like grease balls. There is too much oil in them. I don't understand how it got such good reviews from others. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is delicious and extremely easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was a quick and very easy recipe for items that are found in most cupboards. I used a devil's food cake mix and butterscotch chips and it turned out great. No extra water needed. I used a cookie scoop and flattened out the cookies a bit with my fingers. Don't let them sit on the cookie sheet for more than 5 minutes or they will stick and may crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Great! The 1st batch came out a little crumbly, so I took a members advice and added 1 tablespoon of water and it made even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I made these for the UT VOLS / Fla Gator football game tonight. I truly didn't have high hopes for this recipe when I was mixing these up, the batter just didn't seem right. I added 1 TSP of water. I used devils food cake mix and white chocolate chunks and let me tell you - these are out of this world! To be so easy these were very good! I think those that might not be getting good results might want to change cake mixes. I used a mix that had pudding in it. Thanks for the post! I am going to try different variations for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States