Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Really interesting. The cake mix makes the whole roll gooey and tender like the middle of a bready roll. But, I think this was just a little too sweet and a little too cakey. I think cutting down on the cake mix might be the trick. I like what the mix adds, but I think this is a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Splendid idea to use cake mix. My buns turned out great with little hassle. It made plenty for my sister's family with 5 little ones. All the kids liked the buns, even the picky eaters! To make it interesting, use a flavored cake mix instead of plain yellow cake. I used lemon. It went great with the almond-sugar topping. For your icing, include some lemon juice and it's a wonderful citrus breakfast! I served it with milk and bananas for the kids. It looked, smelled, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I used a little less sugar than the recipe calls for, and subsituted the white cake, for a lemon cake! Everyone gobbled them up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I halfed the recipe and made the dough in the bread machine. They were too plain, not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought for sure that these would be a no-fail cinnamon roll recipe since the base contained a cake mix. Boy was I wrong! These didn't turn out at all. I'm not sure exactly where I went wrong, but I'm still definitely still on the lookout for THE cinnamon roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Super easy. I picked this recipe because I wanted cinnamon rolls now, not ten hours from now. The dough was a dream to work with. I didn't even have to roll it out, just spread it with my hands. I doubled the brown sugar/cinnamon filling and used cream cheese icing instead of topping it with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I was intrigued by this recipe & the mixture of reviews. So, I got a little creative. I used chocolate cake mix and created a coconut-cream cheese filling. Mmmm... good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Superb recipe! I used the French Vanilla cake mix as one reviewer suggested and it was perfect! Might be good to try different cake mixes also. Thank you so much for an excllent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Very easy to make and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
What a waste of 2 hours. I had such high hopes for these but they are not anywhere near "the best". The cake mix in the rolls makes such a weird texture and they are flavorless. I made a praline topping and it was the only thing good about these things. If I am going to invest 2 hours into making something...it had better be good and I feel very let down with the way these turned out (and I'm being polite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States