Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I never thought I would be giving this any more than 1 star because I like to bake from scratch, and because I started out with a mess. lol I had a few cake mixes on hand that I had bought on sale and wanted to use them in 'something'. I had a carmel flavor mix and thought that would be a good choice. I had used white lily flour for this and with 4 1/2 cups, I had nothing but a thick glutonizing batch of goo. I had to add approx. 3 or 4 more cups of flour just to be able to try to knead it. It does make a nice sticky dough which is what one wants here. It had to rise for about 1 hour. I place in oven (pilot light keeps oven warm and oven is draft-free). when I started rolling this out, I ended up with much more than a 10x16 square. (remember the 'I love Lucy' bread episode?) the rolls did cut up nicely (I use a pizza wheel to cut them) and it filled a 15x11 pan. They baked up beautifully without one burn or scorch to the bottom and I just tried them...SOOO LIGHT AND FLUFFY!!!!! Not at all heavy. I know what I'll be doing with the other mixes I have. This is a keeper recipe and I never thought I would be saying that! Had some leftover butter frosting so spread that on them when still warm. Can't wait to give these away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I made this with just 2 packages of yeast, 5 cups of flour, french vanilla cake mix instead of white, and added about 3 Tbsp. softened butter to the dough. The results were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is an amazing recipe. The dough was so easy to work with and was super soft! I would suggest that you make a double batch...because a single won't last a minute in your home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
someone please help!!! i have tried this recipe 2 times and failed both times. The dough is to soft and sticky when i try to knead it. I kept adding flour and after they rose for 30 minutes the dough is still to soft and unable to cut due to being to sticky. Did anyone else have this problem? I really want to make these. They sound great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Excellent! I like a little more cinnamon/sugar flavor so I brushed melted butter on the tops and then sprinkled more brown sugar and cinnamon. I added a vanilla glaze, and they are fantastic. I will make these again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I've made these over and over with raves each time. They are the best!! They are light and full of flavor. I added raisins in some batches and pecans in others. I've used both yellow and white cake mixes with excellent results from either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I made these rolls and they were great but I didn't have a yellow cake mix so I used a white mix. It worked and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This recipe was EXCELLENT! My mother helped me with the ingredients. However, she wasn't so sure that the cinnamon rolls would be good. But once they were ready to be eaten... She took one bite and was totally amazed how moist they were, everyone was raving on and on how moist and delicious they were. My Pastor made sure his wife got the recipe from me before they went home. This recipe is most definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Very disappointing! Presentation was great, looked just like something you'd get at the mall. Taste, well , that was a different story. Not at all like the delicious rolls from the mall!! If you are hoping to duplicate Mom's or Cinnabons, run! This batter tasted too sweet, kinda tough. Will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I made these rolls the night before and set them in the refrigerator overnight and baked them the next morning. They turned out great and they were so big. My family loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEJMO3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States