Cake in a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I mixed all the ingredients together and used the same measurement s for cooking and it turned out great a denser cake but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Hageman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
If you are not a great egg fan and think it has too much, substitute whole egg powder (1/2 tsp)to keep it in the formulation. It's available at most health food grocery stores. Egg white is good too. I liked it much better this way. Also use marzipan or sugar paste, frosting and fillings (remove cake, cut in half and fill then frost) to make cute individual mini cakes. These are perfect for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have seen the recipe on social media sites as well and couldn't wait to try it. I was VERY disappointed! This tastes TERRIBLE! I read several reviews before making this and agreed with several of them about using a whole egg in one mug of cake so I used a substitute (apple sauce) as suggested by another user. The first mug was burnt (I microwaved it for 3 1/2 minutes). The second mug I made sure to cook for less time (2 1/2 minutes) which left the middle of the cake gooey but the edges were done. The consistency of the cake and the flavor was very unpleasant. I do not know what others are saying about this being a great cake! Its terrible! I wasted a good box of cake mix and pudding mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love to bake, and yet we still love this cake in a mug! I usally make this for me and my husband, so I just whisk one egg and split it between the two mugs. We have added marshmallow creme, peanut butter, cook and serve pudding instead of instant, and chocolate chips. We have liked every variation. We only need to microwave it for 1 min and 20 seconds. Then we top it with a big spoonful of canned frosting. It melts on top making this cake really yummy! Red Velvet with cream cheese pudding is a nice combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
After reading reviews, I mixed 1/2C of the cake/pudding mix with 2T applesauce, 1T water and 1T canola oil, then placed in microwave for 2 minutes. WONDERFUL! It is very moist, not quite as "fluffy" as an oven-baked cake. But very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jello

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made the "pudding in the mix" type cake mix exactly as directed on the box. Filled the mugs half full then microwaved them (one at a time) for 2 minutes on high. kind of scary when it raises up above the top of the mug, but shrinks bag down. Moist, delicious, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texoma_Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
my husband and i love this, the only thing we did different was we mixed a large egg together and used only half and then we put in 2 T of water it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Thank you, you just made my morning. I was craving a muffin or a sweet anything - but I didn't have many ingredients on hand and was feeling kind of lazy. This is a great idea. The cake was good with yellow cake mix and butterscotch pudding mix. I think next time I'll cook a little less time, like 1 minute and 45 seconds, because mine seemed a little overcooked. Used 1/2 of an egg. I don't know if this is quite gift worthy, but I know my 15-year-old daughter will love the ease of this for a quick snack that pleases her frugal mom! The rating is for the great idea, the convenience, and being so good on the budget. For the taste and texture, it's a little bit lower - but considering the simplicity, its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I've tried this and other versions of the mug cake and learned my lesson with all of them. The lesson is: Never make a single-serving cake in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Osbourne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I needed a quick dessert for hubby after he took me out to Friday's and a movie as a late Valentines day date. I made this for him and he loved it! I did not have the pudding mix and I used the egg. It was super moist and perfect. I will make this a again for sure! MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States