Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
These were okay flavored but far too sticky. Melting the butter is a mistake and only half the milk is needed. The flavor is okay, I didnt add the cinnamon and sugar since I wanted actual cake donuts, not coated. They were pretty bland but edible with a coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe and the donuts turned out great. I will admit that the batter was scary at first because they were so sticky but after rolling out and using more floor it turned out fine. I read that others added more flour to their mixture but I was sceptical. By rolling the batter in extra flour it solved the problem very well. Next time I may go ahead and add extra flour to batter itself. I also added more nutmeg and cinnamon for extra flavor and it turned out wonderful. Great recipe and great advice from you all with extra tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I found it not workable for ring-shaped doughnuts because, even after refrigeration, it is still way too gooey/sticky to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevens Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
First Time Making Donuts and It Worked Out Great.Loved the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd LaFave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jazzyky
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It was awesome. I added some of my own spices and doubled the ingredients and my family enjoyed this little treat on a Sunday afternoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
WE loved these! I didn't think it was possible to make really good, REAL, like from the donut shop donuts. But this recipe makes it possible! It was so simple and the donuts turned out just beautifully and yummy! I did find my batter a little sticky, not much, but when I put the batter on the floured surface and rolled it around, that made the dough perfect. That being said, flour density varies from bag to bag, so I don't think there is a problem with the recipe, I believe it has more to do with the type and brand of flour being used. This is now a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eva
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
recipe I was looking for!!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made the recipe two times as instructed, and even took anothers recommendation to cut the milk to 2/3 cup.The first batch required the full cup, while the second required less than a cup.I also warmed the milk to room temperature as other recipes noted. I didnt have a bit of trouble getting the dough to the right consistency, and they were light and fluffy when fried. If I had rolled them out, Id surely have needed more flour though. My problem is they really didnt have any flavor. Ive been trying various recipes Ive found online trying to get the distinct taste that my Grandmothers did, but to no avail.Im thinking she used more nutmeg than most recipes call for. My adult son, whom I live with, loves having fresh donuts weekly, and not a single complaint about these. I guess Ill have to tweak this recipe a bit. I didnt roll mine out, I dropped them by teaspoonfuls as this is his preference. Personally, I think a lot of people arent taking into consideration the extra flour theyd use when they have to form the dough to roll it out. Most fry cake recipes advise 3 cups flour, 2 1/2 cups to the mix, and the remainder mixed in as you try to handle it, and roll it out. Too much flour tends to make the donuts dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this just today, both my kids loved them as well as everyone else who tried. They are easy to make and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
ten minute prep time. quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Jolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States