Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So easy and delicious! You absolutely don't need a fry cooker to make these at home. I used 3/4c milk as suggested by others, and forgot the vanilla, and I think these are PERFECT. I grabbed a handful of dough, rolled it out on a floured surface to about the same thickness that I would for sugar cookies. I used a mason jar lid to cut out the donuts, a children's Tylenol measuring cup for the centers (see how fancy I am?) and about 1-1.5" of oil in a small saucepan. The donuts took about 1 min or less per side. Cooked the centers also and they made perfect donut holes. Dusted with powdered sugar. These turned out just like the mini donuts that we love at the local coffee shop. We will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcus
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe with one substitution - I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. all other quantities of ingredients are correct. This makes a very soft dough BUT it is important to chill it for the minimum, to have the oil hot enough AND to not crowd the fryer... I was generous with the flour when handling the dough - after the dough chilled, I rolled the ball of dough in flour, then hand pressed the dough to the desired thickness, trying to not handle it too much. I then made my shapes by hand just as I was ready to drop them in the oil. I had a helper so the assembly line went smoothly. These cake donuts are what I consider to be cake donuts - light enough and not too dense, but not as light as bread / yeast donuts. And I agree with others, they are good too the next day but beyond that, you'll need a good cup of tea or coffee to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very good but doesn't need nutmeg, IMO it makes them taste weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
nice recipe..... been making homemade donuts for years and have tried many recipes, but like this one the best. Follow the directions and it works well. Make sure you have the right tools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I would not try this recipe again! It was a batter. But that's what you get when you have 1 cup of milk to 2 1/2 cups flour! I had plenty of flour on my work surface but it still wasn't enough. When I cut out the doughnuts they stuck to everything, including my fingers when I tried putting them in the oil. I kneaded more flour in but then they were too dense. I will look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe though I changed a few things. First I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup white all purpose flour, and 1/2 cup soy flour. I also used 1 cup spenda instead of 1/2 cup white flour and I changed 1/2 tsp nutmeg to 1 tsp and it turned out splendid. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Super great tasting cake donuts! I always make these! This recipe is a lot better if you add a little bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I really thought they came out well- especially as this was my first time making homemade doughnuts. Very easy. The only thing I will do differently next time is not put in the nutmeg. The doughnuts had a distinct "spice" taste to them, which while great for the fall season, I would rather avoid the rest of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was great. Donuts came out really light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was a good flavored cake. It is very runny but put enough flour and it is good. Also can make a good chocolate cake donut by putting in Hershey's unsweetened chocolate mixed into the dry products, about 11/2 oz and let it set after donuts are cut to raise a little before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States