Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made the dough the night before and leave it overnight in the fridge and it did a little bit sticky but it will not be a problem to roll if you flour the board & pin and also you hand. It did turn out perfect & was served for breakfast. Sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Where I come from in Upstate New York these are called Fried Cakes. They are often sold in the fall to accompany fresh apple cider. They are not meant to be like Krispy Kremes. Those are yeast based donuts. These are supposed to have a denser texture. It is also customary to coat them with cinnamon and sugar or eat them plain but they are never iced. Thanks for this old time recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This recipe is fabulous! I don't have a donut cutter so I dropped batter by spoonsful. Just use very small spoons, though. The first batch came out big as tennis balls. Still delicious, but quite large. I then tried dropping a scant teaspoon, and they came out about the size of golf balls. The smaller ones are wonderfully crunchy and crispy while the larger ones are more cake-like. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
DELICIOUS AND SO EASY....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I reduced the amount of baking powder to 1 teaspoon and reduced the amount of milk to 3/4 cup and added more cinnamon, 1 1/2 teaspoons to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
After reading the first couple of reviews I was a little worried about this recipe. However when I made the recipe for myself I found it to be perfect. The dough was perfect. Just need to be sure to flour the board and the rolling pin. These cakey doughnuts came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
WOW! These are sooooo good!! Ten times better than any I have ever had - anywhere. I used the icing from the Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts recipe on this site. They stay warm for about 45 min, but even after they have cooled they are still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
look dell-li-cious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I tried this recipe and it was the BOMB!!! everything turned out perfectly i am going to be using this recipe in the future Thanks Christina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
"Better than Krispy Kreme" is what my husband said about these doughnuts. The dough did need more flour to roll out properly, not the end of the world. I made a glaze with 1 T. melted butter, dash each vanilla and maple flavor, 1 1/2-2 c pwd sugar and milk or coffee to thin. *Coffee really enhances the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States