Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This recepie is inacurate in the whole point of view, the time to refrigirate the ingridients is not enogh and need more flour , is very messy and with the actual ingridients like the flour amount is not enogh to make the consitency that the doughnuts need to be able to take them and fry them..my kids did not like them either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
great finger food for young kids..older kids like with icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
DELICIOUS AND SO EASY....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This recipe DOES have the correct amount of flour to make the donuts light & fluffy. By placing the dough on a floured surface & sprinkling with flour, it removes the tackiness of the dough. The dough does not stick to the rolling pin. The only suggestion would be to let the donuts drain & cool somewhat before adding sugar/cinnamon coating. If the sugar coating is added too soon, the donuts will retain too much sugar mixture and drown the taste of the donut & you will only be tasting the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Like other reviews need more flour I skipped the 1 hour cool down time cook right a way turned out great. Rember recipe are a guide have fun with it enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I reduced the amount of baking powder to 1 teaspoon and reduced the amount of milk to 3/4 cup and added more cinnamon, 1 1/2 teaspoons to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Where I come from in Upstate New York these are called Fried Cakes. They are often sold in the fall to accompany fresh apple cider. They are not meant to be like Krispy Kremes. Those are yeast based donuts. These are supposed to have a denser texture. It is also customary to coat them with cinnamon and sugar or eat them plain but they are never iced. Thanks for this old time recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This recipe is great. I found that it does need to be refrigerated a little longer than an hour. Instead of adding milk I added apple cider. They turned out so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made only doughnut balls with this one. I followed the recipe and used the cinnamon sugar coating but I did not like the outcome. This doughnut has no taste. I offerred it to my 5-year olds and they ate one and were done. I guess it wasn't a big hit with them either. My husband, you ask? No, he did not like it. But...if you just coat it with confectioners sugar instead, it's not so bad. I used a heart cookie cutter with half the recipe and was surprised to find out it kept the shape of the heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This recipe is fabulous! I don't have a donut cutter so I dropped batter by spoonsful. Just use very small spoons, though. The first batch came out big as tennis balls. Still delicious, but quite large. I then tried dropping a scant teaspoon, and they came out about the size of golf balls. The smaller ones are wonderfully crunchy and crispy while the larger ones are more cake-like. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States