Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great doughnuts! We made 2 double batches .. added a little more cinnamon and nutmeg on the second round, but they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wejusnot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Okay, so i have now made this recipe twice. I have made the typical doughnuts too and if that's what you are looking for, this isn't it. However, i loved the the flavor and density of this doughnut! The dough was a really sticky consistency like a lot of people said- but i turned it out straight onto some flour and carefully folded the dough a few times to make it pliable! Little Tip 1. Don't bother using a rolling pin- just use your hands to get it to the right level- it's not a tough dough at all so it's easy to shape and will prevent sticking. Tip 2. if you are using a cutter, dip it into flour each time before cutting and it should slip right out. What i also LOVED was the fact that it was so much easier and quicker to make than the usual doughnut! THanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Just made this for the first time, followed the recipe but left it in the fridge for 2 hours, great results. Dough is a little sticky, but a light dusting of flour before rolling took care of that. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Used this recipe as written in my old Hamilton Beach Donut Maker. Thought it would make them a little healthier. My husband wants them fried, so will try it that way next time. These are easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe and included some of the suggestions re: sticky dough. Was easy to handle with a little extra flour when rolling out. Doughnuts turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Made these yesterday, and also made my usual recipe. They are excellent as my husband said. He prefers this recipe. I added a fair amount of flour to my flouring board ( the dough was a bit soft & sticky). Turned out great! Next time I will reduce the cinnamon slightly. Now the grandkids will be the judges @ Thanksgiving! They love doughnuts. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
As per other reviewers, I reduced the milk, too. Came out very good. Next time I will definitely double the amount, as these go very quick. Just the right taste ! mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
i love the doughnuts some thinks the dough was too sticky but, thats how doughnuts are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World Of Warcraft Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this recipe twice since Sunday. The first time was with my 12 yrs. old niece, she had fun and the donuts tasted great. Didn't take long to get the hang of making the donuts. My teenage sons enjoyed this recipe. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was a good recipe. I put 1/2 cup of milk instead 1 cup. I made fudge Frosting 1 Semi sweet chococlate square, 2 tablespoons butter, 4 tablesoons Karol Syurp,1 teaspoon Vanilla & 3 cups Powder sugar. Melt butter,chococlate square & Karol syurp in a small sauce pan heat on Med after all melted add Powder sugar. Mix untill smooth. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States