Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I believe I read all 122 reviews before trying this recipe. I decided to just cut back the milk by 1/4 cup, due to several warnings about dough being too sticky. They came out FABULOUS! Made as directed except for decreasing the milk, refrigerated overnight, used plenty of flour to pat out the dough with my hands (rolling pin totally unnecessary), cut and fried as directed. OMG heavenly! My husband flipped over these! No problem with stickiness at all. We had eaten half a dozen before I could get cinnamon sugar on them. Stored in Tupperware, they were still plenty good the next day. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I either did something wrong, or its the recipe. Mine came out more doughy then cakey. Plus as others mentioned it was very hard to work with. Had to keep adding flour to work with it. By the time I got the process down and got them all made, I was not impressed with the taste or consistency. I gave it 3 for the ok taste, and easiness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were excellent donuts though they do need a bit more flour. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissanddave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiPandita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I forgot to refrigerate the batter but they turned out all the same a bit sticky initially but firmed up well when cooked. Thank you so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I wanted something that didn't require yeast and was an alternative to the "biscuit" donuts we've been making. I wanted to like this because honestly it smelled delicious and the idea of a cake doughnut is yummy, but even letting the dough sit overnight it was still unworkable. I put a heap of flour onto my work area, it absorbed it and still stuck. I couldn't even pick it up. If someone can find a way to make these with the right consistency I'm sure they'd be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MtGracie
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Reading the ingredients, I decided there would be enough flavor to skip the cinnamon/sugar coating, and I was right. Going off the advice of other commenters that it needed more time to chill, I made the dough the night before. I still need to work with my oil temperature, but that's my issue, not the recipe. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
THE TASTE WAS GOOD... BUT MY DOUGH CAME OUT VERY STICKY. WAS THERE ANYTHING THAT I DIDN'T DO?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
awesome and easy. no waiting for donuts to rise. tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The dough is WAY too sticky to actually make any type of shape other than drop doughnuts. I'm amazed that this recipe has gotten such good reviews. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States