Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Absolutely divine. Reminds me of the donuts my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I accidentally let the batter sit in the fridge for over two days, having intended to make them one morning and forgetting to do so once or twice. The dough was still very sticky and glossy, hard to work with but not impossible. I used an ice-cream scoop to dish out equal portions and then split those into small balls to make donut holes. (because they grew considerably as they fried.) the batter did stick to the bowl and to the plates I put the dough portions on. I didn't mind and I worked quickly with the batter, re-shaping the balls as I dropped them into the pan. I guess I'm just more patient than others with messy doughs. I fried them in the middle of the night using lard instead of regular cooking/frying oil because i wanted a more delicate texture and i find regular oils tend to make homemade donuts tough. I tossed them while they were still hot (thinking they were cooler than they were) in powdered sugar and cinnamon, which gave them a thick sort of glaze. I tried one while it was still considerably warm and I didn't like the taste at all, I found it too eggy and spice-heavy--but I let them sit out under a sheet of wax paper overnight. This morning they were absolutely wonderful. They were flaky and tender and they tasted just like (if not better than) most grocery or commercial donuts. I'll be using this recipe as my go-to cake donut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I just made these for my children, used 1 cup finely milled soft wheat flour in place of 1 cup white flour, substituted margarine for butter & soy milk for milk (dairy allergy) AND baked these in my donut pans. They were AWESOME! Light, fluffy, and delicate. I baked them for 8 minutes at 400 degrees in regular sized donut pan & 6 minutes at 400 degrees in mini donut pan. Very tasty! Now I'm going to make up chocolate donuts replacing 1/2 cup flour for 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and minus the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe was great, the first time I made it I put in the nutmeg, the second time I left it out. I enjoyed it more with the nutmeg left out just because it tasted more like the fair doughnuts. It does take some getting used to if you have never made doughnuts before, but practice makes perfect!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I believe I read all 122 reviews before trying this recipe. I decided to just cut back the milk by 1/4 cup, due to several warnings about dough being too sticky. They came out FABULOUS! Made as directed except for decreasing the milk, refrigerated overnight, used plenty of flour to pat out the dough with my hands (rolling pin totally unnecessary), cut and fried as directed. OMG heavenly! My husband flipped over these! No problem with stickiness at all. We had eaten half a dozen before I could get cinnamon sugar on them. Stored in Tupperware, they were still plenty good the next day. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I either did something wrong, or its the recipe. Mine came out more doughy then cakey. Plus as others mentioned it was very hard to work with. Had to keep adding flour to work with it. By the time I got the process down and got them all made, I was not impressed with the taste or consistency. I gave it 3 for the ok taste, and easiness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were excellent donuts though they do need a bit more flour. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissanddave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiPandita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I forgot to refrigerate the batter but they turned out all the same a bit sticky initially but firmed up well when cooked. Thank you so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I wanted something that didn't require yeast and was an alternative to the "biscuit" donuts we've been making. I wanted to like this because honestly it smelled delicious and the idea of a cake doughnut is yummy, but even letting the dough sit overnight it was still unworkable. I put a heap of flour onto my work area, it absorbed it and still stuck. I couldn't even pick it up. If someone can find a way to make these with the right consistency I'm sure they'd be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States