Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
nice recipe..... been making homemade donuts for years and have tried many recipes, but like this one the best. Follow the directions and it works well. Make sure you have the right tools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I would not try this recipe again! It was a batter. But that's what you get when you have 1 cup of milk to 2 1/2 cups flour! I had plenty of flour on my work surface but it still wasn't enough. When I cut out the doughnuts they stuck to everything, including my fingers when I tried putting them in the oil. I kneaded more flour in but then they were too dense. I will look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe though I changed a few things. First I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup white all purpose flour, and 1/2 cup soy flour. I also used 1 cup spenda instead of 1/2 cup white flour and I changed 1/2 tsp nutmeg to 1 tsp and it turned out splendid. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KyLee Woodley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Super great tasting cake donuts! I always make these! This recipe is a lot better if you add a little bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I really thought they came out well- especially as this was my first time making homemade doughnuts. Very easy. The only thing I will do differently next time is not put in the nutmeg. The doughnuts had a distinct "spice" taste to them, which while great for the fall season, I would rather avoid the rest of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was great. Donuts came out really light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was a good flavored cake. It is very runny but put enough flour and it is good. Also can make a good chocolate cake donut by putting in Hershey's unsweetened chocolate mixed into the dry products, about 11/2 oz and let it set after donuts are cut to raise a little before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I had to double the recipe they turned out so good big fluffy and yummy. Hubby said they were the best I had made. I also kneaded some extra flour into the dough, made it very easy to roll out and cut with my doughnut cutter, just the right amount of flour after you knead it for few min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I am a HUGE doughnut fan but only like cake donuts like these. I made them about 32 yrs ago as a kid and still remember the experience and wanted to bring it to my kids. My sons (4 & 6) kept saying they wanted to go to Dunkin Donuts instead, until we tasted these! Now they asked to make them every weekend! Great texture and flavor and very easy to make. The oil temp is critical and a slight golden color was the best result, although even my brownish ones still tasted good. We bought choc cake frosting and dipped them in sprinkles, which were great. I need to find a recipe for more frosting options, though. Plain with a cup of coffee - I'm addicted! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I was really disappointed when I tried this recipe.The dough came out very very sticky and I was unable to roll it out.Ended up making little doughnut balls because of the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granise Jean Louis
Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States