Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Very good. I dropped teaspoon fulls of the dough instead of shaping it like a doughnut because it makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were excellent, like the difference sliced grocery store bread and homemade. I've never made doughnuts before so I was really impressed. I read the other reviews before making these and have some hints for people who were finding the dough too sticky. I made the recipe as stated with two notable exceptions. First I used Becel margarine because that was all I had on hand. I don't buy butter unless I need it for shortbread. I will buy butter for this recipe. I think the butter would help the dough firm. After making the dough I divided it in half and added two tablespoons of dutch process cocoa in an attempt to try to make chocolate doughnuts for variety without making two different recipes - I lack willpower and my waistline doesn't need dozens of doughnuts in the house. The cocoa didn't work and that half of the batch was compost. It did however roll out better than the plain batch which was probably due to the extra dry ingredients. I let the dough sit in the fridge uncovered overnight. Also I rolled these out on a board slightly more floured than I would use for pastry. After cutting the doughnuts out I let them air dry while the oil was heating and then fried them for 1 1/2 minutes per side. We dusted only half of them with sugar/cinnamon mix and they were equally good without as they were with it. I've promised the family that next weekend will have a dougnut extravaganza and freeze the majority.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I found this recipe to be easier than i thought. I found that the oil temp need to be perfect, the hotter the better. We ate these up in a little over a day plain and with sugars, powdered and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These were really good!!!! I had to use more flour then what called for but my husband and kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Ihave been baking MANY years. Wanted sonething to do with my grandchildren so I thought I'd try this. WHAT A MESS!! The dough was SO sticky that it could't be handled. I thought I made a mistake in the recipe so I mixed up another batch of dough and the same thing. This recipe is just awful! It doesn't even deserve 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I sized this recipe to only 4 servings because I was the only one at home. It made a wonderful dough-I didn't make any changes to the recipe. They also deep fried very well. But, I am only giving these 4 stars because they are still not the fluffy cake doughnut I am looking for. The texture is a bit grainy, but it also has a good flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These were just o.k. They didn't wow us at all. The dough was extremeley hard to work with, and I had to add so much extra flour. It was still sticky after that. I'm going to search for another recipe. I may try this one again, and work with it for improvement. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
"Better than Krispy Kreme" is what my husband said about these doughnuts. The dough did need more flour to roll out properly, not the end of the world. I made a glaze with 1 T. melted butter, dash each vanilla and maple flavor, 1 1/2-2 c pwd sugar and milk or coffee to thin. *Coffee really enhances the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I tried this recipe and it was the BOMB!!! everything turned out perfectly i am going to be using this recipe in the future Thanks Christina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
look dell-li-cious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States