Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
"Better than Krispy Kreme" is what my husband said about these doughnuts. The dough did need more flour to roll out properly, not the end of the world. I made a glaze with 1 T. melted butter, dash each vanilla and maple flavor, 1 1/2-2 c pwd sugar and milk or coffee to thin. *Coffee really enhances the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I tried this recipe and it was the BOMB!!! everything turned out perfectly i am going to be using this recipe in the future Thanks Christina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
look dell-li-cious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made the dough the night before and leave it overnight in the fridge and it did a little bit sticky but it will not be a problem to roll if you flour the board & pin and also you hand. It did turn out perfect & was served for breakfast. Sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
WOW! These are sooooo good!! Ten times better than any I have ever had - anywhere. I used the icing from the Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts recipe on this site. They stay warm for about 45 min, but even after they have cooled they are still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
These turned out really well. I add the zest of half a lemon and half an orange. I drained them on paper towels for a few minutes before coating them in icing sugar or the granulated sugar cinnamon combo. The boys in my house loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
After reading the first couple of reviews I was a little worried about this recipe. However when I made the recipe for myself I found it to be perfect. The dough was perfect. Just need to be sure to flour the board and the rolling pin. These cakey doughnuts came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Well, I don't know how anyone would be able to make doughnuts out of this dough, so I'm giving it 2 stars. I couldn't even roll the dough into balls to make doughnut holes. Instead, I just dropped dough by rounded tsps into hot oil, and ended up with interesting fried dough. They didn't taste bad at all. Just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
We love trying new doughnut recipes and were excited about this one. Much to our dissappointment, the dough had the consistency of cake batter. We thought it owuld firm up when chilled, but it didn't. We had to add more flour, approx 1.5-2 cups more, to get the right dough cosistency. When cooked, they had lost all flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This recipe is fabulous! I don't have a donut cutter so I dropped batter by spoonsful. Just use very small spoons, though. The first batch came out big as tennis balls. Still delicious, but quite large. I then tried dropping a scant teaspoon, and they came out about the size of golf balls. The smaller ones are wonderfully crunchy and crispy while the larger ones are more cake-like. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States