Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
THE DOUGH WAS STICKY AND UNMANAGEABLE. THERE WAS NO WAY TO GET A SHAPE OUT OF IT. IT WAS A DISASTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Although these doughnuts tasted delicious, the dough was so sticky that it was a complete mess while making them. I think the flour ratio is wrong in this recipe.The second time I made them I used 3 and a half cups of flour and the doughnuts turned out much better and the dough was easy to handle. My friends loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. No offense to the person who put this on here, but a word of advise for any one else that tries this, its perfect for funnel cake, but not for doughnuts, its toooooo sticky to roll and there doesnt seem to be anything you can do about it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Kays
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
A bit sticky. I added about 1/2 cup more flour when mixing and then kneaded in about 1/4 cup more when it was chilled. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
They tasted good but it took me a while to figure out the size of each piece and temp of the oil. I have never cooked anything like this before and it was definitely not as easy as I thought it would be. Overall it tasted good but there was some "user error."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yummy!! This recipe rocks!I made everything the night before. I let my boys apply the frosting and sprinkles in the morning. This is a nice Sunday morning family thing. Also a nice sleep-over breakfast, all kids love doughnuts and making a mess!!!! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
i need to make 300 dozen of donuts in my beshaw donut robot, i used this recipe and it was the best that i have ever used. I mixed and used right away!! thank you for saving my festival today. lunora
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hot Springs, Virginia, USA
Living In: Monterey, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Omg!! This recipe is amazing. Although I am not a fan of cake doughnuts (hubby is) I made this one today. I was a little skeptical about the 2 tbsp. of vanilla but tried it anyway. I will be making this one again and probably be doubling it. I wouldn't change a thing and had no
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I just made these and they were outstanding. I have been looking for a cake doughnut receipe for years. This is a keeper. I agree, use extra flour when rolling out the dough. It is a very light dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
We are first time doughnut makers, so take that for what its worth. We made doughnuts and doughnut holes out of our center pieces we cut out. By the time we got to our holes (we did them last) we had it down pat. Our doughnuts came out very crunchy and greasy, and not very doughy in the centers at all. I think our mistake was not letting the oil get to temp (It really needs to be 370 or even a tad higher) or else the doughnuts just float around soaking up oil for too long. Use high heat, and don't over cook (golden does not mean brown! It took us a few tries to see the difference) Personally, I think the flour ratio is right on. I can see how adding extra flour could dilute the taste as another poster mentioned. Do use extra flour when rolling out. We will be doing these again soon to iron out our wrinkles and I'll review again. In our case, I think the failure was our fault, not the recipe! Use high heat! Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States