Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Omg!! This recipe is amazing. Although I am not a fan of cake doughnuts (hubby is) I made this one today. I was a little skeptical about the 2 tbsp. of vanilla but tried it anyway. I will be making this one again and probably be doubling it. I wouldn't change a thing and had no
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I just made these and they were outstanding. I have been looking for a cake doughnut receipe for years. This is a keeper. I agree, use extra flour when rolling out the dough. It is a very light dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
We are first time doughnut makers, so take that for what its worth. We made doughnuts and doughnut holes out of our center pieces we cut out. By the time we got to our holes (we did them last) we had it down pat. Our doughnuts came out very crunchy and greasy, and not very doughy in the centers at all. I think our mistake was not letting the oil get to temp (It really needs to be 370 or even a tad higher) or else the doughnuts just float around soaking up oil for too long. Use high heat, and don't over cook (golden does not mean brown! It took us a few tries to see the difference) Personally, I think the flour ratio is right on. I can see how adding extra flour could dilute the taste as another poster mentioned. Do use extra flour when rolling out. We will be doing these again soon to iron out our wrinkles and I'll review again. In our case, I think the failure was our fault, not the recipe! Use high heat! Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Olson
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
They are very good! The recipe was very easy to make and calls for items you probably already have in your pantry! They were the best warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Another Upstate New Yorker thinks these are about as close as you'll come to the real deal found at the cider presses in the fall...brought back memories of riding to the country to buy cider and fresh donuts. We called these Fried Cakes. These should not be pale in color but nice and toasty brown!! Nice and crunchy on the outside and soft inside. Great with Cinnamon-sugar! Dunk them in cocoa or coffee too-YUM! Eveyone loved them!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made these with my 9-year old daughter and her friend. They were easy and very tasty. I will definitely make them again. We followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent and simple recipe! No problems with too little flour. I use ample flour when rolling out the dough. These doughnuts crisp up perfectly on the outside and have a wonderful "melt in your mouth" cake texture inside. My husband and kids love this recipe! Have made it twice so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I followed the reciepe to the T..cutting them out was a mess even on a slightly floured surface..when I would get one good one and fried it in the hot oil the outside got beyond golden brown before the insides leaving them a little doughy inside nor could I taste any of the flavors ....store bought tastes better than these....I have been making pretty much everything from scratch cakes, frostings etc in order to cut down our food bill still in dire need of finding a good doughnut reciepe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used a liberal amount of flour when rolling them out and they came out picture perfect, golden and crispy outside, moist and tender inside. We sold a gazillion at our bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My kids loved these. I tried cooking them two different ways. First I dropped small teaspoon sized amounts of batter into the deep fryer. They didn't look that great but my son said "They taste better than they look!" Then I tried them rolled out and they turned out great. The key to these turning out is putting lots of flour on the counter and lots ontop of the dough when rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States