Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammy Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this just today, both my kids loved them as well as everyone else who tried. They are easy to make and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
ten minute prep time. quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Jolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I followed the words of the folks who said this dough was too wet. Those folks omitted 1/4 to 1/3 of the milk. I eye balled it and omitted a little over a 1/4. It was still WAY too wet. I chilled it for over 3 hours. I resorted to flouring my hands LIBERALLY, rolling it into balls and flattening the balls to less than 1/4 inch thick before frying. Any thicker and the outside was a hair from burnt and the very center was raw. I tried cooking with oil at the recommended temp, then reduced it to 360 when it was leaving it raw in the middle. On the upside though, they did taste good, my wife and 2 year old liked them. I would try this again but with either 1/4 cup of milk, or leave out the milk altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Great recipe I like my donuts frozen. Sounds crazy but its awesome. After sprinkling with granulated sugar and getting to room temp I out in sandwich bags and put in freezer. Try it before doubting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Every time I crave something sweet, I get cooking/baking. With my family, these never last after 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved these. I made my own glaze though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These were a hit, kids loved them. I used floured parchment paper to roll them out on, seemed to work really well. I had tried the counter before using the parchment and it created a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The recipe didn't impress me. The dough was sticky and to me it wasn't worth the time it took to prepare and cook. I think you would've needed to subtract some of the milk from the recipe and maybe a little more refrigeration time. Overall, I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Just like Mom used make!! I liked the recipe very much, changed the milk to buttermilk, added 1/2 cup more of flour and left out the cinnamon. Didn't refrigerate dough, just rolled out and cut with doughnut cutter and deep fried. They came out like my Mom used to make. Her recipe was from the Rumford Cook Book, dated 1908. The doughnuts were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
When i made these doughnuts i did not use 1 cup milk i used about 1/4-1/3 cup like some of the reviews suggested. The dough rolled out great; it wasn't too sticky or too dry. The doughnuts also cut out well from the dough once you've floured your cutters. The problem was that they weren't thoroughly cooked after frying. Perhaps the oil was to hot (did not have a thermometer to measure the temperature to 370 degrees) or i should have rolled the dough to a thinner thickness. but overall i'm sure if the oil was at the right temperature and doughnuts at the right thickness that they would have turned out wonderful. (it probably has a little too much cinnamon for my liking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States