Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great in a Kitchenaid ice-cream maker! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Be careful when cooking on stove! I "burnt" the bottom a bit. :( 1 cup YELLOW cake mix. Little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This turned out great. I did use skim milk and half&half instead of cream. Thank you for sharing this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used Half and Half in place of Heavy Whipping Cream and Skim Milk and it was STILL SUPER creamy. I am talking about Cold Stone Creamery status! And it was half the fat of this recipe which I love. I also made it 'Birthday Cake' Ice Cream by adding 1/4 container of vanilla icing in the middle of its churning time...as well as some sprinkles of course. I think I let it get a little past 'soft serve' consistency, but it was still perfect and did not need to set in the freezer overnight in my opinion. Everyone was raving! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this with yellow cake mix, and substituted one cup of half&half for one cup of the cream (it was what I had on hand). It came out tasting exactly like cake batter (ie, wonderful)! I think it might even be a little better than the local chains. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
When I quality-control tasted this I thought it was pretty darn good. Then, when my family and friends tasted it, they took bigger portions than I anticipated! I knew it was good and they thought it was great! Stuck to the recipe as-is. It's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily05ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love this! I always get cake batter ice cream at Cold Stone with brownies mixed in, so I baked some & added them in the last few minutes of the ice cream maker. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna1966

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was a nice base recipe inspiration but not all that wonderful on its own. I agree with the reviewer who said to use yellow cake mix and more of it -- that's a no-brainer. White cake mix has zero flavor and usually makes an awful tasting cake. I used a DH yellow cake mix. I used organic jumbo sized eggs which I think gave it too much of a custard-y egg-y taste so next time I'll cut back to two eggs or three regular large eggs (the recipe doesn't tell us what size eggs). This recipe has to increase the vanilla to get it anywhere in the ballpark of Cold Stone's cake batter ice cream. I think I probably used two or three TABLESPOONS before I decided it had sufficient vanilla taste. I also doubled the recipe and added two full cups of cake mix. Next time I might get a vanilla bean and scrape the insides into the batter for a stronger, more authentic vanilla taste. Last, I finely chopped two semi sweet chocolate bars and added them once the ice cream was getting to milkshake consistency. Without the chocolate this would not have been half as good. I will try this again with less egg and maybe more cake mix and more vanilla via fresh beans. This is a good recipe inspiration but needs some help to reach the right to be called even close to cold stone's or any commercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I think you may have just saved my peanut-allergic son's childhood! He's had reactions to even the "safest" store-bought ice creams, so it's been tough. And then we found this little gem. It's the best ice cream I've ever tasted and totally safe for him. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! I did use one full cup of cake mix as suggested by others but other than that, it was incredible. Try it and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States