Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Phenomenal! Made it just as written, and wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spoonstyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is the best ice cream I've ever made! I think I cheated & added a little more cake mix than directed, but it was sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I managed to make this ice cream like my "local creamery" by trial & error...I don't have an ice cream maker, so I put the mixture in a covered glass casserole dish in the freezer, whisking every 30 minutes until set up. The first day it was ok...a little soft & not exactly tasting as rich as the "creamery's." We left the rest in the freezer overnight, which resulted in a really hard lump. 60 seconds in the microwave resulted in a creamy, delicious treat that's a mirror image of what you'd buy at the mall. With my favorite mix-ins, I won't be spending $4.95 on the same thing anytime soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
With all the wonderful reviews I had hoped that I would be able to give one as well... unfortunately that is not the case. The icecream DID NOT turn out good at all. It never creamed up it just turned into an ICY cream and not an ICE-CREAM. I will not be making this again :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Heavenly!!! I have made many other flavors of homemade ice cream but this is the best ever! It tastes just like the kind you get at the specialty ice creameries only better because it has that homemade taste going on. LOVE IT!!! I used all half and half for this recipe since I wanted to get rid of what I had left, I am sure that only added to its decadence. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Unreal. Quite simple for someone like me to make without messing it up. Flavor is just wonderful. I did use REAL vanilla extract, didn't mess around with that imitation stuff. One of my most favorite ice cream flavors ever....and now I can make it at home. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very yummy ice cream. It actually tastes a lot like Cold Stone's cake batter ice cream (even a similarly thick consistency). I mixed this up for the first time tonight while I was cooking dinner. I didn't really even pay attention to the ice cream mixture when it was on the stove...just stirred one last time before removing from the heat. You could easily substitute lighter ingredients like half-and-half for the heavy whipping cream. I found a reduced-sugar Pillsbury cake mix that worked well. It turned out so thick, creamy and sweet. Great recipe! If you want a real treat...use the rest of the cake mix to make cupcakes. Serve the ice cream over a cupcake with fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMM0430

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Best homemade icecream I've ever made! Huge hit. I added about a capful of almond extract and it gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
For once my homemade ice cream turned out great! Very yummy. I used devil's food cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This ice cream is SO yummy! It was the perfect creaminess! Not too thick! I thought the cake batter taste wasn't too strong, you could maybe add a litte more, but I thought it was good as it. The only difference I did was use vanilla bean paste in place of the vanilla extract. I do that with all my homemade ice cream. This recipe is for sure a keeper that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States