Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The first attempt didn't even make it into the ice cream machine. I did add a 1/4 cup (Pillsbury yellow) cake mix, but followed the recipe instructions exactly. The mixture turned into extremely thick pudding around 140F. I chilled it in the fridge, and in a few hours it had become even more sluggish and a bit separated. It seems that the cake mix acted like cornstarch. But I was determined to make cake batter ice cream, so I ended up remaking the mixture, omitting the eggs and skipping the cooking step all together. I didn't want to waste what little cake mix was left so ended up using close to 1.5 cups of cake mix. Without the heat, this didn't seem to be a problem. The eggless version worked well in the ice cream machine and, although hardened slightly in the freezer, was still workable the next day. I quite liked the taste and texture wasn't bad, although a little bit of grittiness was left from the cake mix. Would make the eggless, uncooked version again. Certainly not using the written recipe again unless I want gelatinous cake batter pudding. If you are set on a cake batter ice cream recipe with eggs, I'd guess your best choices are to either not fully cook the eggs or to add the cake mix after bringing the rest of the mixture to 160F and letting it cool back to room temperature. Also, add the vanilla extract after cooking so you don't loose the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The first time I made it as is and it was way too much cream for me. The second time I did part milk and part cream and that was perfect. Really good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have tried this recipe and it is DELICIOUS.it taste good to if you use yellow cake mix instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Use yellow (butter recipe) cake batter and increase to 1 or 1 1/4 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This ice cream was fabulous! It definitely beat out recipes I was given years ago. Of course, I made some minor changes- I omitted the egg yolks since I'm not crazy about custard-type ice creams and I just mixed the cake mix right into the cream mixture(I used DH's French Vanilla). I was in a rush and didn't have time to cook/cool the mixture before freezing it. It saved a step and I can't imagine it could be anymore delicious if I'd done it the other way! Yummmm! That was the comment made by all who tasted the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was super good. I made it for my husband's 33rd birthday since he doesn't like cake and requested a pumpkin cheesecake instead. (I wanted cake! LOL) I used my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer ice cream maker attachment and it worked like a charm. The only change I made was to add tiny little rainbow sprinkles to make it more festive. Great recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I should have made a double batch this ice cream went so fast!! Awesome recipe! I'll never buy ice cream again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
so good better than some of the other store stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We used yellow cake mix, as we did not have white. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States