Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I think this ice cream tastes better than the store-bought versions. I used a different mix of whipping cream, half and half, and milk, which made it less sweet, so I added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar to compensate. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was one of the best ice creams i have ever made, i used 1 cup of yellow cake mix and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Add the vanilla after cooking though. I actually think you should skip the eggs and cooking altogether. Cake batter does not taste good as a custard. Definitely making this again but next time, I'm skipping the cooking altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pranav Viswanathan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Awesome ice cream!!! It scooped right out of the container perfectly! I paired it with a brownie square topped with the ice cream, fudge syrup, sprinkles and whipped cream!!! My family LOVED it!!! This is a DEFINITE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe because once the recipe was made and I poured it into my ice cream freezer container, I realized it was not nearly enough, unfortunately, it still does not seem like it's going to be enough. All my other recipes call for filling to the "fill line" on my freezer container, but this does not come near it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The first attempt didn't even make it into the ice cream machine. I did add a 1/4 cup (Pillsbury yellow) cake mix, but followed the recipe instructions exactly. The mixture turned into extremely thick pudding around 140F. I chilled it in the fridge, and in a few hours it had become even more sluggish and a bit separated. It seems that the cake mix acted like cornstarch. But I was determined to make cake batter ice cream, so I ended up remaking the mixture, omitting the eggs and skipping the cooking step all together. I didn't want to waste what little cake mix was left so ended up using close to 1.5 cups of cake mix. Without the heat, this didn't seem to be a problem. The eggless version worked well in the ice cream machine and, although hardened slightly in the freezer, was still workable the next day. I quite liked the taste and texture wasn't bad, although a little bit of grittiness was left from the cake mix. Would make the eggless, uncooked version again. Certainly not using the written recipe again unless I want gelatinous cake batter pudding. If you are set on a cake batter ice cream recipe with eggs, I'd guess your best choices are to either not fully cook the eggs or to add the cake mix after bringing the rest of the mixture to 160F and letting it cool back to room temperature. Also, add the vanilla extract after cooking so you don't loose the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The first time I made it as is and it was way too much cream for me. The second time I did part milk and part cream and that was perfect. Really good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have tried this recipe and it is DELICIOUS.it taste good to if you use yellow cake mix instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Use yellow (butter recipe) cake batter and increase to 1 or 1 1/4 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This ice cream was fabulous! It definitely beat out recipes I was given years ago. Of course, I made some minor changes- I omitted the egg yolks since I'm not crazy about custard-type ice creams and I just mixed the cake mix right into the cream mixture(I used DH's French Vanilla). I was in a rush and didn't have time to cook/cool the mixture before freezing it. It saved a step and I can't imagine it could be anymore delicious if I'd done it the other way! Yummmm! That was the comment made by all who tasted the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States